Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Science (multidisciplinary and technology): A Brief Guide to Library Resources: Databases & Indexes

Databases & Indexes

Aggregator Databases. Accessible to University at Albany users only
Citations to articles and full-text can be accessed using the Libraries' aggregator database: EBSCO Academic Search Premier. ScienceDirect is a publisher's aggregator database. It contains a large collection of scholarly science and technology journals published by Elsevier.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete. Accessible to University at Albany users only
Indexes and abstracts over 1,900 academic journals and professional publications, and provides full text access to more than 830 periodicals, books, conferences, and encyclopedias. Subject coverage includes computing theory and practice; engineering and applied science; and social and business implication of technology.
FirstGov for Science

This site was launched in December 2002, providing for the first time wide public access and a unified search of the government’s vast stores of scientific and technical information. Science.gov is an interagency initiative of 17 U.S. government science organizations within 12 Federal agencies.

Isis, Current Bibliography of the History of Science

The Bibliography was begun in 1913 and is published with the December issue of Isis.  The online version covers publications on the history of science from all disciplines and time periods.  Basic and advanced search capabilities are available.

Scientific and Technical Aerospace Reports

STAR is a biweekly electronic abstract journal, listing citations with abstracts for aerospace-related reports obtained from worldwide sources. Its coverage includes all aspects of aeronautics & space research & development, supporting basic and applied research, and applications.

Web of Science. Accessible to University at Albany users only
Produced by Thomson Reuters, Web of Science indexes the contents of over 12,000 "high impact" journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.  In addition to subject searching, it is also possible to conduct author searches to determine who has cited an author's works.  Coverage begins with 1993.

Additional science databases & indexes.

Subject Guide