Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Selected Internet Resources in East Asian Studies: Language Learning Resources

Library Information

Library Hours

Library Instruction and Tutorials

This site provides online library tours, research tutorials, and instructions on how to find resources on various topics.

Find Library Resources

The library's discovery service - Primo

Use Primo to find books, journal titles, videos, audios, government documents, and other items owned by our libraries.
 

Database Finder

Use databases and indexes to find articles.

Language Learning Resources

Chinese
 
Chinese Romanization Converter

This tool will take text using one form of Chinese Romanization and convert it into a different Romanization.

LanguageGuide.org - Mandarin Vocabulary

This pictorial vocabulary guide is good for beginners.  It contains image-based pages and complementary pages with adjectives, verbs, and expressions.  To hear how a vocabulary is pronounced, simply place the cursor over an object or text.

Learn to write Chinese Characters

Developed by Tim Xie at the California State University - Long Beach, this resource shows how to write Chinese characters stroke by stroke with animation.

Japanese
 
LanguageGuide.org - Japanese

This pictorial vocabulary guide is good for beginners. It is part of the LanguageGuide.org project. To hear how a vocabulary is pronounced, simply place the cursor over an object or text.

“Real World” Japanese

This site provides an array of realistic conversational situations by level of Japanese mastery.

Lang-8 - Multilingual Language Learning and Language Exchange

Write in the language you are learning and have native speakers correct your writing for you.

JLPT Kanji Overview

Move the cursor over the characters to display the On-yomi, Kun-yomi, meaning(s), stroke numbers and other information. The Kanji drill is included.

Korean
 
Korean Alphabet

Developed by Indiana University, this resource combines text, sounds, and graphics for learning basic vowels, complex vowels, and consonants.

Korean Multimedia Dictionary

Developed by Indiana University, this picture dictionary combines text, sound, and graphics. It contains word lists and categories.

Sogang Korean Program

This online course is offered by Sogang University; it includes lessons for Novice Korean and Intermediate Korean.

On-line Intermediate College Korean

This Web-based online courseware is created by University of California - Berkeley. It contains text with audio, grammar, covabulary, exercises, and homework.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Yu-Hui Chen
Contact:
University Library, LI-304
University at Albany, SUNY
518-442-3586