Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Selected Internet Resources in East Asian Studies: Dictionaries

Library Information

Library Hours

Library Instruction and Tutorials

This site provides online library tours, research tutorials, and instructions on how to find resources on various topics.

Find Library Resources

The library's discovery service - Primo

Use Primo to find books, journal titles, videos, audios, government documents, and other items owned by our libraries.
 

Database Finder

Use databases and indexes to find articles.

Dictionaries

General
 
CJKV-English Dictionary

A dictionary database of CJK characters and compounds related to East Asian cultural, political and intellectual history. Maintained by Charles Muller of Toyo Gakuen University. When prompted for ID and password, enter "guest" as ID and no password.

YourDictionary.com

A collection of more than 300 on-line general and specialty dictionaries, covers all areas of Asia.

Digital Dictionary of Buddhism

A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temples, schools, persons, found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources. Updated on user contributions. Maintained by Charles Muller of Toyo Gakuen University.

Chinese
 
Chinese Characters and Culture

This Web site can be searched in English as well as pinyin. Click on character(s) to display definition, etymology, and expressions.

Chinese Character Dictionary

This dictionary can be looked up in four different ways: English, Pinyin, Cantonese, and Radical/Stroke.

Lin Yutang's Chinese-English Dictionary of Modern Usage

"The dictionary comprises a total of 8,169 head characters, together with 44,407 explanatory entries of grammatical usage and 40,379 entries of Chinese words or phrases."

Japanese
 
Denshi Jisho

This online dictionary offers many features, including multi-radical lookup. It also provides roughly 160,000 bilingual example sentences.

Online Japanese Dictionaries and Glossaries

This page provides a collection of annotated links to online Japanese dictionaries.

Korean
 
Korean-English-Korean Dictionary

This onlone dictionary provides both browse and search modes.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Yu-Hui Chen
Contact:
University Library, LI-304
University at Albany, SUNY
518-442-3586