Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Selected Internet Resources in East Asian Studies: Research Databases

Library Information

Library Hours

Library Instruction and Tutorials

This site provides online library tours, research tutorials, and instructions on how to find resources on various topics.

Find Library Resources

The library's discovery service - Primo

Use Primo to find books, journal titles, videos, audios, government documents, and other items owned by our libraries.
 

Database Finder

Use databases and indexes to find articles.

Research Databases

General Core Databases
 
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) UAlbany Access Icon
Contains more than 420,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Most scholarly journals that focus on Asia are examined and exhaustively indexed on an issue-by-issue basis.
JSTOR UAlbany Access Icon

Archives of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Project MUSE UAlbany Access Icon

Offers online access to more than 400 full-text scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

MLA International Bibliography  UAlbany Access Icon

Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. It draws on scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, covering relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.

Historical Abstracts UAlbany Access Icon

Covers history of the world except for the United States and Canada from 1450 to the present. Includes all branches of history: political, diplomatic, military, economic, social, cultural, religious and intellectual history, etc.

Bibliography of Oriental Studies

A free citation index to articles in East Asian Studies published in Japanese, Chinese and a number of European languages. Search by title and author.

Chinese Studies
 
The China Knowledge Resource Integrated Database

A free aggregated database which indexes journal articles, dissertations, core newspaper articles, proceedings of conferences, yearbooks and reference works.

National Bureau of Statistics of China

A freely available online resource containing economic, development and census statistics.

Japanese Studies
 
CiNii: Articles by NII 論文情報ナビゲーター

A free database containing indexes to journal articles, including the NDL Journal Periodicals Index, with full-text for some fifteen hundred journals. It is part of GeNii.

CiNii: Books

A free database containing book information

Relevant Interdisciplinary Databases
 
PAIS International/PAIS Archive UAlbany Access Icon

A bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of international political, social, and public policy issues. Covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, reports, government documents, etc. More that 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year.

Humanities Sources UAlbany Access Icon

Provides provides full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.

Social Sciences Abstracts UAlbany Access Icon

International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences UAlbany Access Icon

Core disciplines covered are anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, with additional coverage in other social science fields. Indexes both core and specialized journals (2,600) and books in the social sciences. Thirty percent of the records are in languages other than English.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) UAlbany Access Icon

Coverage and frequency: 1991 to present, updated monthly. Provides the full-text of working papers, occasional papers, conference proceedings, etc., produced by prominent research organizations in the field of international affairs. It also includes the table of contents of major international affairs journals.

Ethnic NewsWatch UAlbany Access Icon

Coverage: Mid-1980's to present, updated monthly. Covers the African American, Arab American, Asian American, Native American, European and Eastern European, Jewish, and Hispanic, Chicano and Latino point of view.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Yu-Hui Chen
Contact:
University Library, LI-304
University at Albany, SUNY
518-442-3586