Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Teaching and Learning: Language Arts & Reading

Internet Resources

Library Information

Library Hours

Library Instruction and Tutorials

This site provides online library tours, research tutorials, and instructions on how to find resources on various topics.

Find Library Resources

The library's discovery service - Primo

Use Primo to find books, journal titles, videos, audios, government documents, and other items owned by our libraries.
 

Database Finder

Use databases and indexes to find articles.

Language Arts & Reading

Children's and School Media Collections (Carol Anne Germain, University at Albany, SUNY)

Links to essential websites pertaining to children's literature and resources for school media specialists.

International Literacy Association

"..a professional organization for those involved in teaching reading to learners of all ages. " It provides a range of free resources in areas of teaching tools, issues in literacy, and literacy in community"

Literacy.org

"Source for research and development on literacy in the U.S. and worldwide."

Children's Literature Web Guide (David K. Brown, University of Calgary, Canada)

Internet resources related to books for children and young adults. An attractive, well-organized, and user friendly site for anyone who is interested in children's literature. Search by keyword or browse topics.

National Writing Project (NWP)

the NWP is a network of sites anchored at colleges and universities and serving teachers across disciplines and at all levels, early childhood through university.

National Center for the Study of Adult Learning and Literacy

Offers descriptions of research projects, provides links to related Web sites, and more.

New York State English Council

Links to various resources related to language arts, New York State Certification, and other topics, including lesson plans and teaching ideas for teachers.

New York State Reading Association

Provides information for members and links to related Web sites.

ProLiteracy

Includes national and international proliteracy programs. It's Verizon Literacy Network (VLN) is a free, online tool that uses computers and other technology to deliver information and resources to anyone who wants to improve their own literacy skills or the reading and writing skills of someone else.

Reading is Fundamental (RIF)

The nation's largest children's literacy organization. Includes online resources for local RIF coordinators, educators, and parents

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Yu-Hui Chen
Contact:
University Library, LI-304
University at Albany, SUNY
518-442-3586