Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Teaching and Learning: Bilingual Education & ESL

Internet Resources

Library Information

Library Hours

Library Instruction and Tutorials

This site provides online library tours, research tutorials, and instructions on how to find resources on various topics.

Find Library Resources

The library's discovery service - Primo

Use Primo to find books, journal titles, videos, audios, government documents, and other items owned by our libraries.
 

Database Finder

Use databases and indexes to find articles.

Bilingual Education & ESL (English as a Second Language)

American Council on Teaching Foreign Languages

Focuses on issues that are critical to the growth of both the profession and the individual teacher, ranging from the development of Proficiency Guidelines to its leadership role in the creation of national standards.

Center for Adult English Language Acquisition (CAELA, Washington, D.C.)

Principal focus is adult ESL literacy. Includes annotated links to other sites with information and resources for adult ESL, and more.

Center for Applied Linguistics

Provides a wide selection of Web resources including megasites and sites offering learning materials for teachers and students. Search by keyword, topics, or resources.

Interesting Things for ESL Students

Includes quizzes, word games, word puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, anagrams, a random-sentence generator, and other study materials. The primary focus is for ESL, but native English speakers may also find some interesting things on this site.

National Association for Bilingual Education

The NABE website provides information on publications, conferences and professional issues in the field of bilingual education.

National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition (NCELA)

Formerly, the National Clearinghouse for Bilingual Education. Features language and education links, online library (includes selected full-text journal articles), information on legislation, and more.

TEFL.NET

Resources for EFL/ESL/ESOL Teachers. Includes TEFL.NET Inspire!, an electronic magazine for TEFL teachers, as well as lesson plans, classroom handouts, and more.

TESL-EJ Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language

TESL-EJ is fully refereed, freely-distributed electronic journal. It is an internationally- recognized source of ESL and EFL information for people in scores of countries.

TESOL International Association

Provides access to information about the organization, news, publications, professional development, professional activities, standards, resources for teachers and researchers, and position statements of the TESOL association .

ETS TOEFL Family of Assessments

Provides information about the test, test preparation, services of the organization, publications, and more.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Yu-Hui Chen
Contact:
University Library, LI-304
University at Albany, SUNY
518-442-3586