Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There is a large variety of databases, e-texts, and indexes for literary research. Databases may contain citations only, citations and abstracts, and/or full-text. E-texts are always full-text.
The most important resources for beginning research are listed here:
- MLA International Bibliography: . Premier database for English and American Literature, but also focuses on Romance, Germanic, Eastern European, Oriental and others. Coverage is from 1963-present.
- Literature Resource Center: . Extensive database, mostly full-text, based on the four-part Gale Literature Criticism Series covering 1400-present. The focus is primarily English and American Literature, but the international coverage is expanding. Also central to the database is the Dictionary of Literary Biography. (For more details of these resources, see the print descriptions below).
- JSTOR: . Back files of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, many with counterparts in Project Muse. Some titles date back over 50 years. Journals are exact images of the print version. The journals can be browsed either alphabetically or by discipline and searched individually; or partial or entire disciplines can be searched by doing the following:
- select Advance Search
- select discipline(s)/journal(s)
- TO ACCESS ADDITIONAL DATABASES FOR LITERARY RESEARCH CLICK HERE. More resources can be found by clicking on the "Show all" link directly under the "Key Resources for English" page.