This book tells the story of Seattle's community gardens how they impact residents. Topics include planning and design strategies, community and municipal participation, and programs developed for the use of gardens by specific populations.
Cambridge Illustrated Glossary of Botanical Terms, by Michael Hickey and Clive King. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2000. Illustrated glossary of terms commonly used to describe vascular plants. [SCIENCE REFERENCE/QK 10 H53X 2000]
Magill’s Encyclopedia of Science: Plant Life, Bryan D. Ness, ed.
Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2003. Contains approximately 400 topical entries on plant-related topics. [SCIENCE REFERENCE
QK 7 M34 2003]
Names of Plants, by David Gledhill.
Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2008. Contains an alphabetical list to interpret the scientific names of plants from around the world, and discusses conventions in the naming of plants. [SCIENCE REFERENCE/QK 96 G54 2008]
Included in the Oxford Reference Online collection, select the heading "Earth & Environmental Sciences" to access this reference book. Includes a survey of notable gardens with articles on a range of horticultural topics. Also included are brief biographies of landscape architects and others.
Large collection of lantern slides of American buildings and landscapes built during the period 1850-1920. Source materials for this collection come from Harvard's Graduate School of Design. Included is the work of Harvard faculty Frederick Law Olmsted, Bremer W. Pond, and James Sturgis Pray, as well as that of other landscape architects throughout the country. The collection offers views of cities, buildings, parks, and gardens, including Boston's Park System.
From Duke University, this site contains a database of images pertaining to the theme "The Urban Landscape," from fourteen different collections.
The following is a select list of books on more general topics in landscape architecture. To find materials on more specific projects or topics, search the Libraries' online catalog linked in the Quick Links box to the left.
City Trees: A Historical Geography from the Renaissance Through the Nineteenth Century, by Henry W. Lawrence. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2006. Traces the history of urban tree planting primarily in European and American cities. [SCIENCE/SB 435.6 E85 L39 2006]
Design and Landscape for People: New Approaches to Renewal, by Clare Cumberlidge and Lucy Musgrave. London: Thames & Hudson, 2007. This heavily illustrated book discusses the planning lessons learned from case studies from around the globe. [ULIB/HT 170 C86 2007]
Design with Culture: Claiming America’s Landscape Heritage, Charles A. Birnbaum and Mary V. Hughes, eds. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2005. This work describes efforts to preserve historic and significant landscapes, and includes information about several important designers and preservationists. [SCIENCE/SB 472.8 D47 2005]
Ecology, Community and Delight: Sources of Values in Landscape Architecture, by Ian H. Thompson. London: E&FN Spon, 2000. The author explores the role of the aesthetic, the social, and the environmental value systems within landscape architecture. [SCIENCE/SB 472 T48 2000]
Great City Parks, by Alan Tate. London: Spon Press, 2001. Provides and in-depth look at public parks in several major cities in North America and Europe. [SCIENCE *OVERSIZE/SB 484 E8 T37 2001]
Trees in the Urban Landscape: Site Assessment, Design, and Installation, by Peter J. Trowbridge and Nina L. Bassuk. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley, 2004. Covers design considerations, planning, botanical selection, planting, and maintenance of trees in difficult urban settings. [SCIENCE/SB 436 T86 2004]
Urban Open Space: Designing for User Needs, by Mark Francis. This book examines the research that has been conducted to assess user needs and the implications for designing outdoor public space. [SCIENCE/SB 472 F69 2003]