Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a small sample of the more general books on architecture found in the Libraries' collections. For books on specific architects or styles, search the online catalog linked to the left.
- Art & Architecture Thesaurus, by Toni Petersen. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1994. [ULIB REF Z 695.1 A7 A76 1994]
- Contemporary Architects, Muriel Emanuel, ed. NY: St. Martin's Press, 1980. This work emphasizes living architects as well as those architects of the modern movement of the 1920s-1950s who continue to exert an important influence on architecture. [ULIB REF NA 680 C625]
- Dictionary of Architectural and Building Technology, by Henry J. Cowan and Peter R. Smith. New York: E & FN Spon, 1998. [ULIB REF NA 31 C63 1998]
- Dictionary of Architecture, by James Stevens Curl. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1999. [ULIB REF NA 31 C86 1999]
- Encyclopedia of American Architecture , by Robert T. Packard. New York: McGraw-Hill, Inc., 1994. This is a well-illustrated work for general readers. It contains detailed articles on all aspects of American architecture, with substantial bibliographies for further reading. [ULIB REF NA 705 P3 1994]
- Encyclopedia of Architectural and Engineering Feats , by Donald Langmead and Christine Garnaut. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, Inc., 2001. Offers an overview of the architectural and engineering works that represent significant innovations in the creation of the built environment. [ULIB REF NA 200 L32 2001]
- Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture, edited by Gordon Campbell. Oxford, UK : Oxford University Press, 2007. substantial reference, with (unsigned) Covers classical art and architecture, major styles, and important cities and monuments. [ULIB REF N 5610 G76 2007]
- Illustrated Encyclopedia of Architects and Architecture , by Dennis Sharp. New York: Whitney Library of Design, 1991. This work is both a documentary history of architectural ideas and a biographical dictionary. Entries are the work of specialist authorities in the field. [ULIB REF NA 40 I45 1991 ]
- Source Book of American Architecture: 500 Notable Buildings From the 10th Century to the Present, by G.E. Kidder Smith. NY: Princeton Architectural Press, 1996. The five hundred buildings covered in this book were selected to demonstrate architectural evolution during the history of the United States. [ULIB REF NA 705 S578 1996]
- Sourcebook of Contemporary North American Architecture From Postwar to Postmodern, by Sylvia Hart Wright. NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1989. This book supplies basic information for more than 500 of the most widely discussed building and complexes completed in North America from 1949-1987. [ULIB REF NA 703 W75 1989]
- Visual Dictionary of Architecture, by Francis D.K. Ching. New York: Van Hostrand Reinhold, 1995. This book provides definitions for terms relating to architectural design, history, and technology. Many entries are illustrated with detailed line drawings. [ULIB REF NA 31 C44 1995]
- Who's Who in Architecture: From 1400 to the Present Day, J. M. Richards, ed. NY: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1977. Covers architects from Britain, the United States, British Commonwealth, Israel, and Japan. Since this book is intended for English and American readers, the architects from Britain and the United States have been somewhat less rigorously selected than those from Europe and Latin America. [ULIB REF NA 40 W48]
The following are electronic dictionaries, accessible to the UAlbany community:
Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
Included in the Oxford Reference Online collection, select the heading "Art and Architecture" to access this dictionary. Each entry is followed by a brief bibliography, with suggestions for further reading. Includes biographies of prominent practitioners.
Grove Dictionary of Art
Covering all aspects of the visual arts including painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative art, and photography, this database contains images, selected full-text articles, and biographies of prominent artists and architects.
The databases listed below are the most relevant for finding articles and information about architecture. Additional databases can be found by using the Databases and Indexes tool, linked under the Library Quick Links box.
Provides the electronic backfiles of many high quality social sciences journals, including those in the fields of geography, economics, area studies and architecture, but does not provide access to current issues.
Indexes key international arts publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, reproductions, and book reviews. Coverage includes architecture and city planning.
Cities and Buildings Database
From the University of Washington, this site provides a collection of approximately 10,000 digitized images of buildings and cities around the world.
Great Buildings Online
Edited by Kevin Matthews, Great Buildings Online is published free on the internet as an information service of Artifice, Inc. The site contains images of over 800 important buildings worldwide, and provides downloadable three dimensional models for many of the buildings.
Structurae: International Database and Gallery of Structures
Structurae is a database for works of structural and civil engineering, but also contains many other works of importance or interest of the fields of architecture and public works. Created by Nicolas Janberg, Structurae contains images and information primarily about bridges, tunnels, dams, skyscrapers, stadiums, towers, and the like.
International Architecture Database
From archINFORM, this very large database covers projects from various architects and planners, primarily from the 20th century. address, keywords and information about further literature. Entries may include images, comments, or links to other sites.
Architecture Web Resources
An excellent research guide for architecture and building resources, created by Jeanne Brown, head of the UNLV Architecture Studies Library.
This site includes a database of tall buildings worldwide, including images and basic data about each building.