Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The databases listed below are the most relevant databases for researching topics in planning. Additional databases can be found by using the Databases and Indexes tool, linked under the Library Quick Links box. Because planning is multidisciplinary in nature, depending on your topic you may wish to consult sources covering economics, public affairs or area studies for specific regions.
This database indexes the worldwide literature on geology, geography, and ecology. Topics covered related to Planning include environmental resources; demography; rural and urban studies; urbanisation and housing; national, regional and community planning; transportation, tourism, international development.
EconLit with Full Text
This database contains information on all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
Contains the full-text of over a thousand Elsevier journals. Backfile coverage starts with 1995. Includes titles related to planning, landscape architecture and economics. Most titles allow access to articles in press and allow users to set up an RSS feed.
Provides the electronic backfiles of many high quality social sciences journals, including those in the fields of geography, economics, area studies and architecture, but does not provide access to current issues.
Social Sciences Abstracts
Covers periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law.
Primary database for sociology, covering journal articles, book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers.
Indexes key international arts publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, reproductions, and book reviews. Coverage includes architecture and city planning.
Grove Dictionary of Art
Covering all aspects of the visual arts including painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative art, and photography, this database contains images, selected full-text articles, and biographies of prominent artists and architects.
Provides access to thousands of worldwide newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and industry newsletters in the areas of law, medicine, and business.
PAIS International/PAIS Archive
PAIS International provides references to books, journal articles, government documents, and privately published research reports on almost any topic that has a public affairs dimension. It is international in coverage. Coverage begins with 1972 but the PAIS Archive extends coverage back to 1915.
Index to Current Urban Documents
Subject and geographic index to local government documents and state documents dealing specifically with a city or county. (Note: The Libraries have microfiche of the documents for NYS localities, ULIB/ Microfiche HT 166 U72X)