Atmospheric & Environmental Sciences: Library Resources

CIESIN is a distributed, electronic data and information system created to address the information needs of users concerned with understanding global environmental change and sustainable development issues. It includes the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC) gateway to an easy-to-use interface for searching, viewing, browsing or ordering data and information.

The Encyclopedia of Earth covers a wide range of earth science topics, from the earth to its natural environments, to water profiles of selected countries. Well-written articles can be browsed alphabetically or by topic.

Introduction to the ozone hole, with broad ozone hole information, including the discovery, and the science of the ozone hole.

Offers current drought conditions, forecasts and archival data, pertaining to the U.S. Produced by four Federal agencies.

View the search results to browse books on this topic.

This page is produced by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. It provides information on the science of global warming, as well as information on impacts.

Produced by the European Commission, this web page covers studies on global warming, EU documents, information on international climate negotiations, and EU domestic actions.

Offers information on topics (food, water, climate etc.), region or resources (such as data and forecasts).

Sponsored by the WMO and UNEP, this page offers news, and full-text copies of previous assessment reports.

RealClimate is a blog with contributions by scientists working in the field. It covers current information on climate, as well as material discussing treatment of climate information by the media.

This page offers news, key documents, updates on negotiations, as well as a number of supporting documents.

From NOAA. Paleoclimatology data are derived from natural sources such as tree rings, ice cores, corals, stalagmites, and ocean and lake sediments. These proxy climate data extend the weather and climate information archive by hundreds to millions of years. The data include geophysical or biological measurement time series and some reconstructed climate variables such as temperature and precipitation.

View the search results to browse books on these topics.

Provides information on Atlantic& Caribbean Hurricanes, as well as those in the Eastern Pacific. Provides links to worldwide tropical cyclone centers. General information on hurricanes, as well as historical information (includes the following:1492-1996 Atlantic Deadliest Hurricanes, 1900-2000 USA Deadliest Hurricanes, Most Expensive, Most Intense, US Strikes by Decade, US Strikes by State).

From the National Center for Atmospheric Research.