Atmospheric & Environmental Sciences: Library Resources

From the National Weather Service.

Need help finding data on a specific area? Or on a particular kind of weather? Try the Locating Weather & Climate Data, an Information page produced by NOAA. It offers clear steps on how to locate specific types of information for a particular city or larger region, and links to helpful web pages.

NOAA offers a collection of Regional Climate Centers, including the Northeast, High Plains, Midwestern, Southeast, Southern and Western Regional Climate Centers. Northeast Climate links include drought and snowfall. (Select the appropriate abbreviation on the bottom of the page for access.)

(NASA Langley Research Center). Collection of data on radiation budget, clouds, aerosols and tropospheric data. Contains recent and archival data sets.

Find information about climate analysis, aerosols, clouds, rainfall and remote sensing. Produced by NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center.

Provides access to NCDC products, publications & services, includeing CLIMVIS (Climate Visualization System), an interactive visualization/data browsing tool for climate data.

Its mission is to maintain a continuous watch on short-term climate fluctuations & to diagnose & predict them. Includes the U.S. Drought Monitor.

National Weather Service's Climate Predication Center U.S. drought information page.

The GCMD contains descriptions of and access information for over 3,900 earch science data sets. Areas covered include atmosphere, oceans, biosphere, hydrosphere, cryosphere, land surface, solid earfh, solar-terrestrial & human dimensions of climate change. Produced by NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center.

The Washington Post allows you to search through almost 2,000 cites worldwide to find monthly historical weather data.

A collection of weather satellite imagery from NASA's Earth Science Office.

A data catalog & library of more than 300 data sets, with an interface to make plots, tables, or files from any data set.

A collection of web-based instructional modules that incorporate text, colorful diagrams, animations, computer simulations, audio & video to introduce fundamental concepts in the atmospheric sciences.

Formerly the NGCD, it manages environmental data in the fields of marine geology and geophysics, paleoclimatology, solar-terrestrial physics, solid earth geophysics, and glaciology (snow and ice). In each of these fields, it also operates a World Data Center.

National Weather Service's Forecast Maps.

NGDC manages environmental data in the fields of marine geology and geophysics, paleoclimatology, solar-terrestrial physics, solid earth geophysics, and glaciology (snow and ice); in each of these fields NGDC also operates a World Data Center.

NHC's Data Archive products include reports such as Tropical Cyclone Reports and Advisories, Past Track Seasonal Maps, and Tropical Cyclone Climatology.

Includes publications on Local Climatological Data, Climatological Data, Hourly Precipitation Data, Storm Data, Monthly Climatic Data for the World, COOP Data/Record of Climatological Observations Form, and Climatological Data National Summary.

Conducts weather and climate research to observe and understand Earth's physical environment. and to improve weather and climate predictions on global-to-local scales.

This list details U.S. and global storms & climate events most noted for their atmospheric marvel or impact on human life.

This site organizes NOAA's satellite information. It features NOAA's National Environmental Satellite, Data and Information Service (NESIDS), NOAA's CoastWatch Program and hundreds of archived satellite images, storm animations and special events.

Storm Events Database, Severe Weather Data Inventory, Cyclone best track data, and Lightning strike data

Data includes 25 meteorological observations at these stations.

SPC monitors and forecasts severe and non-severe thunderstorms, tornadoes, and other hazardous weather phenomena acrosss the conterminous U.S.

WMO Normals available through site.

Provide access to climatologies (temperatures, rain & snow) for cities in the U.S. and its possessions. Produced by the NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory. Produced by NOAA.

WW2010 strives to integrate real time and archived data with instructional resources. It includes multimedia instructional guides, archive of data & products from memorable weather events, real time weather data and current weather products.