This is the "Bilingual Education & ESL" page of the "Teaching and Learning" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teaching and Learning  

Internet Resources
Last Updated: Aug 1, 2013 URL: http://libguides.library.albany.edu/teaching_learning Print Guide RSS Updates

Bilingual Education & ESL Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Information

Library Hours

Library Tutorials and Guides

This site provides online library tours, research tutorials, and instructions on how to find resources on various topics.
 

Find Library Resources

Minerva - The Library Catalog

Use Minerva to find books, journal titles, videos, audios, government documents, and other items owned by our libraries.
 

Databases & Indexes

Use databases and indexes to find articles.
 

Bilingual Education & ESL (English as a Second Language)

American Council on Teaching Foreign Languages

Focuses on issues that are critical to the growth of both the profession and the individual teacher, ranging from the development of Proficiency Guidelines to its leadership role in the creation of national standards.

Center for Adult English Language Acquisition (CAELA, Washington, D.C.)

Principal focus is adult ESL literacy. Includes annotated links to other sites with information and resources for adult ESL, and more.

Center for Applied Linguistics

Provides a wide selection of Web resources including megasites and sites offering learning materials for teachers and students. Search by keyword, topics, or resources.

Center for Multilingual Multicultural Research (University of Southern California)

"The Center provides a base for those interested in multilingual education, English-as-a second language, and foreign language instruction, multicultural education and related areas; and the opportunity to come together for research and program collaboration."

Interesting Things for ESL Students

Includes quizzes, word games, word puzzles, proverbs, slang expressions, anagrams, a random-sentence generator, and other study materials. The primary focus is for ESL, but native English speakers may also find some interesting things on this site.

National Association for Bilingual Education

The NABE website provides information on publications, conferences and professional issues in the field of bilingual education.

National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition and Language Instruction Educational Programs (NCELA)

Formerly, the National Clearinghouse for Bilingual Education. Features language and education links, online library (includes selected full-text journal articles), information on legislation, and more.

TEFL.NET

Resources for EFL/ESL/ESOL Teachers. Includes TEFL.NET Inspire!, an electronic magazine for TEFL teachers, as well as lesson plans, classroom handouts, and more.

TESL-EJ Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language

TESL-EJ is fully refereed, freely-distributed electronic journal. It is an internationally- recognized source of ESL and EFL information for people in scores of countries.

TESOL, Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages, Inc.: A Global Education Association

Provides access to information about the organization, news, publications, professional development, professional activities, standards, resources for teachers and researchers, and position statements of the TESOL association .

TOEFL

Provides information about the test, test preparation, services of the organization, publications, and more.

 

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Yu-Hui Chen
Contact Info
University Library LI-304
University at Albany
1400 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12222
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip