Library Quick Links
- Minerva - The Library CatalogUse Minerva to see if the Libraries own an item or subscribe to a journal.
- Databases and Indexes Access subscription databases.
- Interlibrary Loan / UA Delivery
- Library Hours
- Style GuidesFind help with citing sources and creating a bibliography.
- Ask a Librarian
Featured Video

Call Number: University Library Media DVD [at Circulation Desk first floor] HT 166 J26V 2003
Jacobs shares her insights into urban planning by tracing the progression of ideas in her books
Overview
This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for locating information pertaining to planning, using both print and electronic resources available through the University at Albany Libraries.
- Use the yellow tabs for information about finding different types materials.
- Because Planning tends to be interdisciplinary in nature, materials are located in all three of the University Libraries. Call numbers for print materials listed here starting with "ULIB" are located in the University Library, sometimes referred to as the Main Library. Call numbers beginning with the prefix “REF” are in the Reference area on the first floor, and those with the prefix “RBR” are on Reserve at the Circulation Desk. Call numbers beginning with "DEWEY' are at the Dewey Graduate Library on the downtown campus. Call numbers beginning with "SCIENCE" are located in the Science Library.
- Most of the electronic resources covered here are accessible from off campus for registered University at Albany library borrowers and can be identified by the
logo. For more information on accessing these resources remotely, see Off-Campus Access Instructions For Databases and Online Journals.
This guide is not intended to be comprehensive, and the library owns many more resources than are listed here. If you would like more assistance, please contact the Reference Desk.
Internet Resources
These sites provide networking opportunities and information for the planning community.
- CyburbiaActive social networking site for urban planners. Registration is required, but is free.
- PlanetizenFrom Urban Insight, this site is designed for the urban planning, design, and development community. Contains news, discussion forums, commentary, book reviews, announcements, jobs, and more.
- H-UrbanDiscussion forum concerning research and scholarship about urban history and urban studies. Membership is free, but registration is required. Affiliated with the Society for American City and Regional Planning History and the Urban History Association.
- Capital District Regional Planning Commission Home PageThe Capital District Regional Planning Commission (CDRPC) is a regional planning and resource center serving Albany, Rensselaer, Saratoga, and Schenectady counties. The site contains the strategic plan, reports, information on land use and water quality and data about the region.
- American Planning AssociationThe American Planning Association (APA) is an independent, not-for-profit educational organization whose mission is to provide leadership in the development of vital communities by advocating excellence in community planning, promoting education and citizen empowerment, and providing the tools and support necessary to meet the challenges of growth and change.
- NY Upstate Chapter APAThe NY Upstate Chapter of the APA exists to serve and support the professional and citizen planning community in New York State, and to improve the quality of life through the use of planning.
- Capital District Planners AssociationCDPA is the section of the Upstate New York Chapter of the American Planning Association (APA) serving the Capital District area of New York.
Anthropology, Sociology, Geography and Planning, Linguistics and Cognitive Sciences Bibliographer |
Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
