Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Brief Guide to Research in East Asian Studies: Getting Started

Library Information

Library Hours

Library Instruction and Tutorials

This site provides online library tours, research tutorials, and instructions on how to find resources on various topics.

Find Library Resources

The library's discovery service - Primo

Use Primo to find books, journal titles, videos, audios, government documents, and other items owned by our libraries.
 

Database Finder

Use databases and indexes to find articles.

Getting Started

When starting to work on a new research topic, it is helpful to gain an overview of the topic first. Subject encyclopedias provide background information, theories, important figures, significant events, and issues surrounding this topic. They also provide explanations of terminology and the jargon for the field, introduce you to subtopics, and lead you to other relevant sources through a list of references at the end of each entry. In addition, cross-references provided by the index can broaden your view of the topic.

Encyclopedias

China at War: An Encyclopedia

DS 738 C5225 2012 WWW

Encyclopedia of Modern China

University Library REF DS 755 E53 2009

Berkshire Encyclopedia of China

University Library REF DS 755 B86 2009

Brill's Encyclopedia of China

University Library REF DS 755 B86 2009

Japan at War: An Encyclopedia

DS 838 J364 2013 WWW

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese culture

University Library REF DS 822.5 E516 2009

Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan

University Library DS 805 K633 1983

Encyclopedia of Korean Seasonal Customs

University Library DS 904 H2574413 2010

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Yu-Hui Chen
Contact:
University Library, LI-304
University at Albany, SUNY
518-442-3586