For additional reference resources, visit the 1st floor of the Science Library or search the library website for e-books.
Dictionary of Energy by
The Dictionary of Energy, Second Edition is a comprehensive and authoritative reference on all aspects of energy and its role in society. Edited by Cutler J. Cleveland and Christopher Morris, the editors of Handbook of Energy, Volumes 1 and 2, this authoritative resource comes at a time when the topic of energy prices, resources and environmental impacts are at the forefront of news stories and political discussions. The Second Edition of Dictionary of Energy contains over 10,000 terms, across 40 key subject areas in energy (e.g. solar, oil & gas, economics, models, policy, basic concepts, sustainable development, systems, renewable/alternative energy, water, etc), with additional window essays on key issues, such as Biomass, Ecological Footprint, Exergy, Fuel Cell, and Hybrid Vehicles. Dictionary of Energy, Second Edition is a valuable reference for undergraduate and graduate students, academics, and research scientists who study energy, as well as business corporations, professional firms, government agencies, foundations, and other groups whose activities relate to energy.
The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering by
Environmental science and engineering is a truly interdisciplinary field. From its origins in public health practice, concern for the well-being of our environment has embraced areas as diverse as chemistry, the earth sciences, biology, engineering and law. The specialist language of any discipline can be a barrier to co-operation and understanding in solving environmental problems.TheDictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering explains many important specialist environmental terms in a clear and concise way. It also provides an extensive guide to the many acronyms encountered in environmental science. The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering will be a valuable reference tool for anyone working, whether directly or indirectly, with the environment. The dictionary describes many of the acts, organisations and requirements related to the legislation of the environment, giving particular emphasis to those of the United States of America. Thus, it will be particularly useful to those seeking a greater understanding of the US perspective on the environmental question.
Encyclopedia of Energy by
This academic, multi-author reference work serves as a general and non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of energy; to appreciate the influence of energy on societies around the world; to learn the history of energy; and to initiate educational discussion brought forth by the specific social and topical articles presented in the work.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues by
Provides information from numerous fields of knowledge relevant to the study of environmental issues, including biology, geology, anthropology, demographics, genetics, and engineering, and explains the interrelationships of these issues.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering by
"The authors ... continue the pursuit of new knowledge, calculated to bring new fruits of health, safety, and comfort to man and his environs. The charms, as well as the subtle hazards, of the terms ''conservation, preservation, and ecology'' need to be crystallized so that the public and their decision-makers practice this complex art with clearer conception and perception than is apparent in recent bitter confrontations." --From the Foreword to the Fourth Edition by Abel Wolman What''s New in This Edition: New entries on environmental and occupational toxicology, geoengineering, and lead abatement Twenty-five significantly updated entries, including expanded discussion of water supplies and waste water treatment, biomass and renewable energy, and international public health issues An expanded list of acronyms and abbreviations Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering, Sixth Edition is still the most comprehensive, authoritative reference available in the field. This monumental two-volume encyclopedia now includes entries on topics ranging from acid rain, air pollution, and community health to environmental law, instrumentation, modeling, alternative energy, radioactive waste, and water treatment. The broad coverage includes highly specialized topics as well as those that transcend traditional disciplinary boundaries, reflecting the interdisciplinary skills and knowledge required by environmental researchers and engineers. Featuring expert contributors representing industry, academia, and government agencies, the encyclopedia presents fundamental concepts and applications in environmental science and engineering. The entries are supported by extensive figures, photographs, tables, and equations. This sixth edition includes new material on water supplies and wastewater treatment, biomass and renewable energy, and international public health issues. New entries cover environmental and occupational toxicology, geoengineering, and lead abatement. The Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineeringprovides a view of the field that helps readers understand, manage, and respond to threats to the human environment. Also Available Online This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for researchers, students, and librarians, including:  Citation tracking and alerts  Active reference linking  Saved searches and marked lists  HTML and PDF format options Contact Taylor and Francis for more information or to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367; (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062; (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk d list of acronyms and abbreviations Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering, Sixth Edition is still the most comprehensive, authoritative reference available in the field. This monumental two-volume encyclopedia now includes entries on topics ranging from acid rain, air pollution, and community health to environmental law, instrumentation, modeling, alternative energy, radioactive waste, and water treatment. The broad coverage includes highly specialized topics as well as those that transcend traditional disciplinary boundaries, reflecting the interdisciplinary skills and knowledge required by environmental researchers and engineers. Featuring expert contributors representing industry, academia, and government agencies, the encyclopedia presents fundamental concepts and applications in environmental science and engineering. The entries are supported by extensive figures, photographs, tables, and equations. This sixth edition includes new material on water supplies and wastewater treatment, biomass and renewable energy, and international public health issues. New entries cover environmental and occupational toxicology, geoengineering, and lead abatement. The Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineeringprovides a view of the field that helps readers understand, manage, and respond to threats to the human environment. Also Available Online This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for researchers, students, and librarians, including:  Citation tracking and alerts  Active reference linking  Saved searches and marked lists  HTML and PDF format options Contact Taylor and Francis for more information or to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367; (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062; (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk hs, tables, and equations. This sixth edition includes new material on water supplies and wastewater treatment, biomass and renewable energy, and international public health issues. New entries cover environmental and occupational toxicology, geoengineering, and lead abatement. The Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineeringprovides a view of the field that helps readers understand, manage, and respond to threats to the human environment. Also Available Online This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for researchers, students, and librarians, including:  Citation tracking and alerts  Active reference linking  Saved searches and marked lists  HTML and PDF format options Contact Taylor and Francis for more information or to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367; (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062; (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk options Contact Taylor and Francis for more information or to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367; (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062; (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk
Encyclopedia of Pollution by
Encyclopedia of Pollution is a new, two-volume color set designed to address all aspects of pollution and the global impact on the environment in a single source. Containing more than 300 entries and essays interspersed throughout, it uses the most current scientific data to explain the different types of pollutants including properties, production, uses, environmental release and fate, adverse health response to exposure, and environmental regulations on human exposure. It provides the scientific background on the water, soil, and air of environments where the pollutants are released. Coverage also includes pollution regulation, the function of federal regulatory agencies and environmental advocacy groups, and the technology and methods to reduce pollution and to remediate existing pollution problems. Numerous case studies explore the most infamous of pollution events such as the Exxon Valdez oil spill, the Gulf Storm oil well fires, the Chernobyl disaster, Hurricane Katrina, the World Trade Center disaster, and the Love Canal in New York, among many others--including those that had great impact on legislation or that were used in popular media such as the films Erin Brockovich and A Civil Action. Biographies are provided of some of the leaders and pioneers of pollution study and activism. Other useful features include a detailed glossary, indexes, a timeline, and tables.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability by
"This three-volume encyclopedia explores the concept of sustainability in the contexts of the environment, economics, and justice"--Publisher's description.
Handbook of Environmental Engineering by
In his latest book, the Handbook of Environmental Engineering, esteemed author Frank Spellman provides a practical view of pollution and its impact on the natural environment. Driven by the hope of a sustainable future, he stresses the importance of environmental law and resource sustainability, and offers a wealth of information based on real-world observations and his many years of expert experience. The book offers a basic overview of environmental pollution, emphasizes key terms, and addresses specific concepts in advanced algebra, fundamental engineering, and statistics. The author considers socioeconomic, political, and cultural influences, and provides an understanding of how to effectively treat and prevent air pollution, implement industrial hygiene principles, and manage solid waste, water, and wastewater operations. This book addresses the cause and effect of environmental issues, and introduces concepts on how to mitigate them, comply with environmental laws, and implement practices to help prevent future damage. Examines the ramifications and impacts of pollution Details the multiple benefits derived from environmental remediation Describes engineering controls and remediation procedures Discusses various remediation techniques for environmental spills Contains numerous tables and illustrations to supplement the material Both Technical and Nontechnical The Handbook of Environmental Engineering is written in a down-to-earth style for a wide audience, as it appeals to technical readers, consultants, and policy makers, as well as a wide range of general readers.
The Water Encyclopedia by
"Just do an Internet search." "It's on the Internet" These phrases have quickly become a part of the vernacular. The quintessential book of data relating to water, The Water Encyclopedia: Hydrologic Data and Internet Resources, Third Edition arose from the premise that most of the information provided within this publication could be easily found on the Internet. As the editors and their team of contributors soon discovered, using the Internet for research can be problematic. Too much, too little, and questionable data sets can influence the caliber of your results. The new edition contains more than 1100 tables and 500 figures providing data related to weather, surface water, ground water, water use, water quality, waste water, pollution, and water resource management. The first two chapters are completely new and discuss data management and international data collection. The pollution chapter has grown to contain some 450 plus tables and figures. Wastewater, previously included within the pollution chapter, is presented as a new standalone chapter. Whether you are looking for a specific piece of information or exploring many topics, this edition is a portal to quality facts and data sets. Retaining the elements that made the previous editions bestsellers, the third edition elucidates the many changes within the environmental industry and in water-related issues during the last decade. Prepared by scientists and engineers, the book has been significantly expanded beyond the scope of the second edition. Reflecting changes not only in information but also technology, whenever possible, the text includes an Internet address that guides you to the appropriate source.
