Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guides to the Literature
Guide to Information Sources in Engineering by The only source that focuses exclusively on engineering and technology, this important guide maps the dynamic and changing field of information sources published for engineers in recent years. Lord highlights basic perspectives, access tools, and English-language resources--directories, encyclopedias, yearbooks, dictionaries, databases, indexes, libraries, buyer's guides, Internet resources, and more. Substantial emphasis is placed on digital resources. The author also discusses how engineers and scientists use information, the culture and generation of scientific information, different types of engineering information, and the tools and resources you need to locate and access that material. Other sections describe regulations, standards and specifications, government resources, professional and trade associations, and education and career resources. Engineers, scientists, librarians, and other information professionals working with engineering and technology information will welcome this research
Publication Date: 2000-08-15
Information Sources in Engineering by The current, thoroughly revised and updated edition of this approved title, evaluates information sources in the field of technology. It provides the reader not only with information of primary and secondary sources, but also analyses the details of information from all the important technical fields, including environmental technology, biotechnology, aviation and defence, nanotechnology, industrial design, material science, security and health care in the workplace, as well as aspects of the fields of chemistry, electro technology and mechanical engineering. The sources of information presented also contain publications available in printed and electronic form, such as books, journals, electronic magazines, technical reports, dissertations, scientific reports, articles from conferences, meetings and symposiums, patents and patent information, technical standards, products, electronic full text services, abstract and indexing services, bibliographies, reviews, internet sources, reference works and publications of professional associations. Information Sources in Engineering is aimed at librarians and information scientists in technical fields as well as non-professional information specialists, who have to provide information about technical issues. Furthermore, this title is of great value to students and people with technical professions.
Publication Date: 2004-12-10
Using the Engineering Literature by With the encroachment of the Internet into nearly all aspects of work and life, it seems as though information is everywhere. However, there is information and then there is correct, appropriate, and timely information. While we might love being able to turn to Wikipedia¿ for encyclopedia-like information or search Google¿ for the thousands of links on a topic, engineers need the best information, information that is evaluated, up-to-date, and complete. Accurate, vetted information is necessary when building new skyscrapers or developing new prosthetics for returning military veterans While the award-winning first edition of Using the Engineering Literature used a roadmap analogy, we now need a three-dimensional analysis reflecting the complex and dynamic nature of research in the information age. Using the Engineering Literature, Second Edition provides a guide to the wide range of resources available in all fields of engineering. This second edition has been thoroughly revised and features new sections on nanotechnology as well as green engineering. The information age has greatly impacted the way engineers find information. Engineers have an effect, directly and indirectly, on almost all aspects of our lives, and it is vital that they find the right information at the right time to create better products and processes. Comprehensive and up to date, with expert chapter authors, this book fills a gap in the literature, providing critical information in a user-friendly format.
Publication Date: 2011-08-09