Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Environmental & Sustainable Engineering: A Guide to the Resources: Databases

This guide is for finding information about Environmental & Sustainable Engineering available through the library and on the web

Databases

Environment Complete
Subject areas covered include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

GreenFILE 
A bibliographic database containing nearly 1 million records covering information about environmental concerns.

GeoRef
Worldwide literature on geoscience, including water and soil quality.

Energy Citations Database
Contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from 1948 to the present. It was designed and developed by the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information.

Energy & Power Source
Provides full text for the energy and power industries including petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power, renewable energy, and others.

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary citation database of books, conference proceedings, and articles from 10,000+ journals.

TOXNET
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Databases cover toxicology, environmental health, and hazardous chemicals.

NTIS – National Technical Reports Library
The National Technical Information Service maintains and disseminates a large collection of scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information produced for and by U.S. government agencies.

SciFinder (new users)
SciFinder is the Web version of Chemical Abstracts and includes the CAplus database, the CAS Registry file, and Medline. It contains citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations, as well as chemical substance and reaction information.

SciFinder (registered users)

Applied Science and Technology Source
Provides full text from more than 1,400 journals, magazines, conferences proceedings, and more. Subjects covered include applied mathematics, artificial intelligence, chemistry, computing, information technology, energy, engineering, materials, robotics, solid state technologies, and textiles.

AGRICOLA 
Records covering agriculture, animal science, forestry (including plant ecology), botany, zoology, pollution, pesticides and human nutrition.

BIOSIS Citation Index
Index to life science and biomedical research accessed through Web of Science.

INSPEC
INSPEC is the world's largest bibliographic database in the field of physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control engineering, and information technology. Over 330,000 new records from 4,000 journals and 2,000 conference proceedings are added each year.

MEDLINE
MEDLINE with Full Text provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE with Full Text uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database. Includes more than 7,000 full-text periodicals (6,000+ are peer reviewed) in the social sciences, humanities, and science and technology.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Kathleen Flynn
Contact:
Science Library, SL-142
University at Albany
1400 Washington Ave.
Albany, NY 12222
(518) 437-3943