Black Studies Center is a leading tool that supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines that benefit from a more detailed coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
Provides biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields, including architecture, art, business, dance, education, fashion, film, industry, journalism, law, literature, medicine, music, politics and government, publishing, religion, science and technology, social issues, sports, television, theater, and others.
Comprehensive view of the NAACP's evolution, policies, and achievements from 1909-1970. Included are thousands of pages of minutes of directors' meetings, monthly reports from officers to the board of directors, proceedings of the annual business meetings, significant records of the association's annual conferences, plus voluminous special reports on a wide range of issues. Available on ProQuest's History Vault platform.
MSU is a key research institution for Africana Studies - Comprehensive LibGuide at Michigan State University Library, Erik Ponder (Author of Site). UAlbany will likely have some of the resources listed here but not all.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage from 1909 - 1975. An additional year is added annually.
One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Pittsburgh Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights. Coverage from 1911 - 2002. Additional content added annually.
Find current full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Research Questions? What Are You Interested in Exploring?
"The BU Center for Antiracist Research is being built in the same hallowed hall where King studied with the first Black dean at a predominantly White university, the legendary theologian Howard Thurman. It is being built in the same city where a young poet named Phillis Wheatley wrote at America’s founding, “For in every human Breast, God has implanted a Principle, which we call love of Freedom; it is impatient of Oppression.” It is being built in the same city where the mother of American feminism, Maria Stewart, orated in the early 1830s. It is being built in the same city where William Lloyd Garrison edited the voice of the American abolitionist movement, The Liberator. It is being built in the same city where, in the 1960s, the Emergency Tenants’ Council and the Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción began the fight for the now iconic Villa Victoria Community. It is being built at the same university that for 24 years housed the people’s scholar, Howard Zinn." Ibram X. Kendi, Center Founder
This is a link to a local Albany, New York community and Underground Railroad Education Center that provides annual conferences and is linked with community research scholars, academics doing research and community development vis a vis Underground Railroad history and awareness.
Explore Citations "Acknowledging and discussing the modern citation of slave cases is a first step. The Citing Slavery Project provides a database of slave cases and the modern cases that continue to cite them as precedent."
The Northeast Slavery Records Index (NESRI) is an online searchable compilation of records that identify individual enslaved persons and enslavers in the states of New York, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut and New Jersey.
NESRI indexes census records, slave trade transactions, cemetery records, birth certifications, manumissions, ship inventories, newspaper accounts, private narratives, legal documents and many other sources. The goal is to deepen the understanding of slavery in the northeast United States by bringing together information that until now has been largely disconnected and difficult to access. This allows for searches that combine records from all indexed sources based on parameters such as the name of an owner, a place name, and date ranges.
Police Violence anNational Women's Studies Association
Statement in Support of Black Lives and Protests against Police and State Violence
June 4, 2020
NWSA is outraged about the recent death of George Floyd at the hands of a white police officer. Mr. Floyd’s murder is just the latest iteration of recent police violence, state-sanctioned lynching, torture and unjust incarceration of Black people. Breonna Taylor, an emergency room technician in Louisville, was shot in her own home. Ahmaud Arbery was shot by two armed white men who pursued him while he was out jogging in his Georgia suburb. And Tony McDade, a Black transgender man was shot to death by police last week in Tallahassee, Florida. As we struggle to cope with the global pandemic, which has disproportionately hit the Black community, an epidemic of murder of Black people, including transgender and gender nonconforming people, continues to sweep the country. These horrific killings are symptomatic of structural racism and systemic violence rooted in white supremacy, racialized heteropatriarchy, capitalism, militarism, imperialism, and the carceral state.
The question of violence is at the center of Mr. Floyd’s murder, the protests, and the harsh state response. Equating looting—property damage—to violence, officials have deployed tear gas and rubber bullets, and cops in riot gear have shot and beaten people and arrested protesters en masse. The racially coded language of looting and rioting rationalizes the use of military-style force by the state but fails to take into account the generations of corporate looting, labor theft from Black people, land theft from indigenous people, and the multiple forms of exploitation and expropriation upon which this country was built. It also fails to account for the other forms of state-based violence that shape people’s lives: the epidemic of hunger, homelessness, and unemployment, the decades of disinvestment in poor communities, the millions of incarcerated and detained people, Black and brown service workers who are lacking protective equipment, and the failure of the federal or local governments to ensure the health of the most vulnerable. The current protests have grown out of festering rage and frustration around relentless police violence, economic deprivation, political marginalization, inadequate health care, and social isolation.
NWSA joins people around the world who have expressed outrage at the continued state-based and state-sanctioned violence directed at Black communities. As intersectional feminist scholars and activists we are acutely aware of the multiple racialized and gendered forms of state-based violence, both overt and covert, that structure people’s lives. We understand that the police officers in Minneapolis have been arrested and charged but we believe that that is not enough. Police procedures that negatively target Black communities must be changed. We call for resistance, resilience, justice, and solidarity.
Signed by the Executive Committee of the NWSA Governing Council with affiliations for identification purposes only:
Premilla Nadasen, President, Barnard College
Diane Harriford, Vice President, Vassar College
Karsonya Wise Whitehead, Secretary, Loyola University Maryland
Natali Valdez, Treasurer, Wellesley College