Africana - African American Studies

"ALBANY, N.Y. (Feb. 3, 2022) — “Two hundred years ago, a child was born into chattel slavery. She grew up to become a liberator. Abolitionist. Diviner. Healer. Nurse. Naturalist. Freedom fighter. Military raid leader. Spy. Scout. Suffragist. Daughter. Sister. Wife. Mother. Aunt. Friend. National Icon. This is the legacy of Harriet Tubman (1822-1913), born Araminta Ross, called Minty in her youth, and heralded as Moses in her extraordinary adult years of emancipatory action.”

So begins Janell Hobson’s tribute, the introduction to the Harriet Tubman Bicentennial Project, a special commemorative issue of Ms. magazine, in print and an interactive online site. Dubbed “Tubman 200,” the project includes an essay series focusing on Tubman’s life and legacy that began with Hobson’s piece on Feb. 1 and continues through March 10.

Hobson, professor of Women’s, Gender & Sexuality Studies and the 2021-2022 Community Fellow at the Institute for History and Public Engagement, proposed the bicentennial series to Ms. and, in addition to writing the introduction, is an editor for the entire project."

Black History Month The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society.

Papers Of Amiri Baraka/Poet Laureate Of The Black Power Movement

"The mission of the BU Center for Antiracist Research is to convene varied researchers and practitioners to figure out novel and practical ways to understand, explain, and solve seemingly intractable problems of racial inequity and injustice. We foster exhaustive racial research, research-based policy innovation, data-driven educational and advocacy campaigns, and narrative-change initiatives. We are working toward building an antiracist society that ensures equity and justice for all."

This digital primary source collection was developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture utilizing over 170 unique titles. Collection coverage includes archival content from the African Methodist Episcopal Church, The African Methodist Zion Church, numerous Baptist churches and other materials published between 1829 and 1922. Content includes some periodicals, reports and annuals from African American religious organizations.Coverage: 1829-1922 Fulltext:

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Women and Transnational Networks focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class -- from the late eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early twentieth century -- through a transnational perspective. This collection deepens the already-comprehensive coverage of European movements included in Nineteenth Century Collections Online by adding sources from the United States and other regions. The focus of this collection is on major nineteenth-century trends, topics, and events as they relate to gender, including social reform, high and low culture, transnational networks, immigration, daily life, religion, and more.

Part of the ProQuest "History Vault" we now have digital access to select primary source documents from the NAACP Papers including Parts 1, 2,14,16,17 and Part 21: NAACP Relations with the Modern Civil Rights Movement. The University Libraries have purchased and have access to PARTS 1-20 of this collection in microform. Module 1 of the digitized NAACP Papers focuses on NAACP Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, National Staff Files, and NAACP Relations with the Modern Civil Rights Movement.

This guide lists some of the unique collections stored in a variety of microform formats in the Periodicals and Microform Department located on the lower level of the University Library. This page will guide you to selected microfilm, microfiche, microcard collections, their finding aids and call numbers. Selected titled collections are taken from the indexed print guide, A Guide to Selected Microforms Collections Owned by the University at Albany, State University of New York , 1992, revised by Winifred H. Kutchukian. All microform collections should be listed in our Library Tools Catalog but may not have migrated. This digitized guide provides annotated descriptions for each of the selected collections.

Toni Morrison lesson plans with chronological information and lists of publications.

Library of Congress collection

Executive Council of ALA and ALA Black Caucus condemn police violence ALA Executive Board, the ALSC Board endorses BCALA’s statement condemning increased violence and racism towards Black Americans and people of color and stands in solidarity with Black Lives Matter

CALL TO ACTION by SUNY FACULTY SENATE

"Documents Federal Government responses to George Floyd murder"; LibGuide Creator Kelly Smith, UC San Diego Libraries

SUNY DEI Professional Development and Group Work Advisory Committee Web Site.
Includes Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Statement