Primary Sources

Guide created by NYU libraries.

Developed by the Leo Baeck Institute — New York | Berlin (LBI) is devoted to the history of German-speaking Jews.

Jewish newspapers published around the world from the eighteenth century onwards. Part of the digital collections of the National Library of Israel.

Online database of centuries-old Jewish manuscripts from across the world. The archive – known as Ktiv, Hebrew for “written word”– contains nearly 9 million images from over 76000 manuscripts, including prayer books, biblical texts, commentary, philosophy, literature and scientific writings in various Jewish-related languages such as Hebrew, Yiddish, Ladino and Judeo-Arabic.

"The Museum’s Collections document the fate of Holocaust victims, survivors, rescuers, liberators, and others through artifacts, documents, photos, films, books, personal stories, and more."

Online portal that allows users to search through and view more than 55,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, now also includes testimonies of other genocidal events. FREE REGISTRATION REQUIRED TO ACCESS THE MATERIALS

Hosted by the Yale Law School

"Comprehensive full-text collection of documents from Anglo-American trials. In addition to works pertaining to English-speaking jurisdictions such as the United States, Britain, Ireland, and Canada, this digital archive also contains English-language titles about trials in other jurisdictions, such as France. Users will find published trial transcripts; popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery, and other scandalous crimes; unofficially published accounts of trials, briefs, arguments, and other trial documents that were printed as separate publications; official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings, and arbitration sessions (domestic and international); and books encompassing multiple trials as well as books and pamphlets about a single trial."

Repository of free online resources for Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, and Iberian studies! LACLI is an essential tool to find websites that provide access to a great variety of resources such as audiovisual materials, books, data, ephemera, government documents, oral histories, periodicals, reference works, visual materials, web archives and more!

Access to primary sources thematically organized with notes and discussion questions. Part of the National Humanities Center website.

"The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. "

"Digital collection of the first books printed in Mexico before 1601. These monographs are very important because they represent the first printing in the New World and provide primary sources for scholarly studies focused on a variety of academic fields."

Hosts an extensive set of digital collections covering many different topics and content areas from both Latin America and the Caribbean.

This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.

Provides access to nearly 2,000 posters about Word War I.

He was President Wilson’s influential Secretary of State during World War I, and his papers are digitized by Princeton University. Some papers are also available at the Library of Congress

7-volume set edited by Wesley Frank Craven and James Lea Cate. Freely available via the United States Air Force Website. Also provides access to other titles published by the Air Force Historical Support Division

5-volume set published by the U.S. Marine Corps. Access via HathiTrust

Provided by the U.S. Army Center of Military History. All its 79 volumes are freely available online.

28-volume set available via the United States Air Force Website. All freely available online along with access to publications related to other wars where the U.S. participated in.

The diaries "llustrate Patton's activities during the Mexican Punitive Expedition, World War I, and World War II". His other papers are located at the Library of Congress, Manuscript Division: George S. Patton papers, 1807-1979 https://lccn.loc.gov/mm83035634. Also consult the print version of "The Patton Papers" located in the library . CALL NUMBER: E745.P3 B55 1996 (2 vols.)

"his digital collection of Japanese relocation camp newspapers record the concerns and the day-to-day life of the interned Japanese-Americans. Although articles in these files frequently appear in Japanese, most of the papers are in English or in dual text. Many of the 25 titles constituting this collection are complete or substantially complete. Editions have been carefully collated and omissions are noted. A sampling of titles include: Rohwer Outpost, Poston Chronicle, Gila News Courier, Tulean Dispatch, Granada Pioneer, Minndoka Irrigator, Topaz Times, Manzanar Free Press, Denson Tribune, and Heart Mountain Sentinel."

"The Harvard Law School Library's Nuremberg Trials Project is an open-access initiative to create and present digitized images or full-text versions of the Library's Nuremberg documents, descriptions of each document, and general information about the trials."

This oral history includes record the memories of men and women who served overseas and on the home front during World War II. It also provides the transcripts of other oral histories connected to other military history events, social and cultural history and topics related to New Jersey.