LibGuides: Primary Sources: Media

Images

Artstor
Find images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
NOTICE: ARTSTOR is no longer available; all content has been migrated to JSTOR. Clicking on this link will take you directly to JSTOR.

Ad*Access
"Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University. The advertisements are from the J. Walter Thompson Company C
Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
The Prints & Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) of the Library of Congress provides access to about 1 million digital images in the collections of the Library of Congress. There is a caveat on the site that not all images in the catalog are in the public domain.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Includes more than 250,000 maps, including historical maps.

Oral History Center
Oral History got its start at the University of California, and this website, supported by the UC-Berkeley’s Bancroft Library, includes thousands of interviews on an array of topics.
Oral History Digital Collection -University of Southern Mississipi
This website offers oral histories relating to the civil rights movement, drawn from the University of Southern Mississippi Center for Oral History Collection. The site features interviews with civil rights leaders such as Charles Cobb, Charles Evers, and Aaron Henry.
StoryCorps
This is a interviewing platform and radio show begun by NPR, National Public Radio. Take a look around at some of the interviews—you just might develop an interesting research question.
Veterans History Project
From the American Folklife Center, a collection of personal accounts of American war veterans. Includes audio and video-taped interviews, written memoirs, correspondence and visual materials. Searchable by a variety of facets including war, branch of service, gender, and type of manuscript.

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Access video content from all Alexander Street Press collections, as well as available audio and textual content. Browse or search by disciplines, individual collections, titles, publishers, and more.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. A collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH.

American History in Video
The largest and richest collection of streaming video available online for the study of American history.