Primary Sources

This digital archive contains primary source material on East-Central Europe for students, educators, and researchers. The archive is divided into two principle parts: 1. A collection of print and other sources in English for students and educators. 2. Digitized sources taken from regional newspapers, periodicals, rare manuscripts, etc. (for the most part in the original languages) for researchers.

"Epistolae is a collection of medieval Latin letters to and from women. The letters collected here date from the 4th to the 13th centuries, and they are presented in their original Latin as well as in English translation. "

European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.

Digital collection of millions of items including artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.

Index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe (categorized according to country, language, period, subject and type of source).

This New York Public Library site contains more than 3,000 manuscript pages and associated illuminations dating from the 9th through the 16th centuries.

"Comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery. "

Includes millions of digital items related to the the cultural heritage of the Bavarian State Library and other institutions

Provides access to the online version of the Cabinet Protocols of the Federal Government, which provides insights into the Weimer period.

"Multi-media archive of primary materials designed to introduce students and the general public to the richness and contradictions of Soviet history."

Contains a selection of documents that cover Stalin’s personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct in foreign affairs. Most of the material is in Russian.