Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks
Computer Desktop Encyclopedia (CDE)
CDE has been around and evolving since 1978. This online version contains over 25,000 technical terms and phrases, 3,000 images, and 40,000 cross references, It covers all aspects of computing, from chips to supercomputers and from command examples to mini-tutorials. It's free and there's no advertising.
The Computer Engineering Handbook. [SCIENCE REF TK 7885 C645 2008]
This handbook consists of 2 volumes. Volume 1 covers digital design and fabrication, which includes chapters on fabrication and technology; memory and storage; design techniques; design for low power; and testing and design for testability. The second volume covers digital systems and applications, and includes chapters on computer systems and architecture; embedded applications; signal processing; communications and networks; input/output; operating systems; and new directions in computing.
The 286 signed articles in this encyclopedia are organized into four topic areas: foundations (ideas and people), software and hardware, social applications, and the electronic universe. There are also illustrations, sidebars, definitions, cross-references, bibliographies, Internet resources, and timelines.
Consisting of two volumes, this handbook contains research-level survey articles. Volume 1
covers computer science and software engineering. It explores designing and implementing software, new areas computers are being used, and ways to solve computing problems. The second volume
covers information systems and information technology, and examines the practice of using, managing, and developing IT-based solutions.
Concise Encyclopedia of Computer Science. [SCIENCE REF QA 76.15 C654 2004]
This is the shortened version the Encyclopedia of Computer Science (see below). It contains about 60% of the content in the full version.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology. [SCIENCE REF QA 76.15 H43 2004]
With over 400 entries, this one-volume encyclopedia provides information on current topics in computing, including technology developments & innovations and biographies of computer pioneers. It is written for students and general audiences.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science. [SCIENCE REF QA 76.15 E48 2000]
A one-volume authoritative encyclopedia covering the entire range of computer science. Each article is separately authored and signed. Earlier editions are in the Science Library circulating book collection.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science.
From the ACM Digital Library, this is an online version of 4th edition of the Encyclopedia of Computer Science (printed in 2003). Like the print version, it covers the entire range of computer science. Each article is separately authored and signed. Earlier editions are in the Science Library circulating book collection. Use the alphabetical subject index to access the articles and appendices.
Springer eReference Encyclopedias and Dictionaries.
Part of the Springer Computer Science eBook Collection, this collection contains several encyclopedias and dictionaries.
System and Network Security Acronyms and Abbreviations.
Compiled at the Computer Security Division of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), it is a listing of information technology acronyms and abbreviations. This glossary is in PDF format, and is also known as NIST Interagency Report 7581.
Webopedia is an online dictionary of computer- and Internet-related terms.