Skip to Main Content

Nanoscale Science & Engineering: A Brief Guide to Library Resources

Handbooks & Compendiums

AIP Physics Desk Reference. [SCIENCE REF QC 61 P49 2003]
Divided into the disciplines of physics, each chapter contains fundamental constants, conversion factors, basic mathematical and physical formulas for that discipline.
 
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. [SCIENCE REF QD 65 H3]
The classic ready-reference book of physical and chemical data. It is issued annually with revised information and new material. Previous editions are available in the Science Library circulating collection.
 
Handbook of Microlithography, Micromachining, and Microfabrication. [SCIENCE TK 7836 H3423 1997]
Volume 1 of this two-volume set covers microlithography, including process development and production. Micromachining and microfabrication are detailed in Volume 2 which covers numerous device applications. The set contains many recipes, tables, and charts.
 
Handbook of Optical Engineering. [SCIENCE TA 1520 H368 2001]
This concise and practical handbook highlights the principles, processes, methods, and procedures of optical engineering. There are hundreds of tables, flow charts, graphs, schematics, drawings, photographs, and formulas, as well as worked-out examples that demonstrate applications and clarify calculation methods.
 
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology

ICT contains the best (critical) data derived from the literature up to 1924. It includes data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other important properties for chemistry, physics, and engineering. The data is presented as text, equations, tables, graphs, and charts. ICT is fully searchable and the index is hyperlinked to the data.

Kaye and Laby Online

Contains the entire 16th edition (1995) of Kaye and Laby's Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants. It is freely available from the UK's National Physical Laboratory, and includes important physical and chemical property data. Kaye and Laby Online is searchable, or may be browsed. Note: this is an archived version as it is no longer being updated.

knovel Critical Tables

knovel Critical Tables (kCT) are based on the International Critical Tables of Numeric Data, Physics, Chemistry, and Technology, and include up-to-date, evaluated data on over 13,000 compounds. The tables contain data on organic and inorganic compounds, and pure substances. New tables will be added to kCT on a regular basis. kCT is fully searchable.

Smithsonian Physical Tables.
Covering a wide range of common physical and chemical data, it includes general physical constants and units of measurement as well as tables on photometry, mechanical properties, building materials, density, acoustics, diffusion, geomagnetism, radiation, abundance of substances, colloids, electron emission, fission, and gravitation. The 901 tables are fully searchable and the index is hyperlinked to the data.