Reference Resources
Using the school's Library Webpage, navigate to our 24/7 Research Databases. The databases are listed alphabetically. The username and password is the same for each database.
Username: This will be generated through school device
Password: book
1. Britannica School
https://school-eb-gst.orc.scoolaid.net/levels/high
Britannica School is an online resource available to all students in our 24/7 databases located on our library webpage. You will find high-quality and reliable content to meet all your research needs. Britannica School provides articles, multimedia resources, and items for further research. Britannica School also offers a choice of elementary, middle and high school to ensure content is best suited for that age range. Be sure to look at the further research for additional resources!
2. Learn360
https://learn360-infobase-gst.orc.scoolaid.net/?aID=135954
Learn360 is a multimedia database that uses documentaries, interactive lessons and videos, and educational videos to support learning. This resource is also available to all students through our 24/7 databases located on our library webpage. Content available on Learn360 has been provided through trusted and reliable sources to ensure accuracy. Use the search feature to locate information specifically on your topic.
Books
These books can be found in our library or are available to loan through another library in our region. Please come see Mrs. Flood in the library to help locate the title or request the title from another district.
Location: ILL (See Mrs. Flood to request this title from another district. It will be here in about 1 week!)
This title explores both the Qin and Han Dynasties of Ancient China. You will learn about the economic conditions, the legal system, government, and arts of this time. The title will explore innovations that have impacted modern society.
Location: ILL (See Mrs. Flood to request this title from another district. It will be here in about 1 week!)
This book illustrates important events of ancient civilizations including the Han and Qin dynasties. The detailed images engage readers and provides an overview of ancient civilizations during this time period. This title is apart of a series called “Witness to History.” This title would be a great starting point for a brief overview of these ancient civilizations.
Additional Resources
These sources can be found by navigating through the URL provided. When using any resource (especially those online!) always remember to use the C.R.A.A.P test to evaluate the source! Here is a recap on the C.R.A.A.P test in case you need a refresher!
C- Currency (When was the information posted or created? Does your topic require up-to-date information?
R- Relevancy (Does the information pertain to your topic?)
A- Authority (Who created or wrote the information? Do they have any credentials that make them a trustworthy source?)
A- Accuracy (Does the information in this source match other sources? Is there any bias?)
P- Purpose (What is the purpose of the information? Is it satire? Is it to persuade, inform, sell or entertain?)
The Han Dynasty made many lasting contributions to modern society, including something you use every day! This site explores the Han Dynasty and has been edited by History.com editors. A table of contents menu bar makes it easy to navigate the information and site. You will learn about the emperors of this time, art, innovations, and the Silk Road. Be sure to check out the sources list for more great resources!
This online Encyclopedia is a great resource to locate information about any ancient civilization. Each submission has been carefully reviewed to ensure reliability. It is a non-profit organization that was founded in 2009 with the goal of creating a reliable and comprehensive resource. It was first focused solely on ancient history, which makes this resource the perfect addition to our ancient civilization project. Use the search feature to locate information about your civilization. You will be able to locate information on Ancient Greece, Ancient Rome, the Maya Empire, Han and Qin Dynasties, Gupta Empire, and the Mauryan Empire.