Reference Resources
Using the school's Library Webpage, navigate to our 24/7 Research Databases. The databases are listed alphabetically. The username and password is the same for each database.
Username: This will be generated through school device
Password: book
1. Britannica School
https://school-eb-gst.orc.scoolaid.net/levels/high
Britannica School is an online resource available to all students in our 24/7 databases located on our library webpage. You will find high-quality and reliable content to meet all your research needs. Britannica School provides articles, multimedia resources, and items for further research. Britannica School also offers a choice of elementary, middle and high school to ensure content is best suited for that age range. Be sure to look at the further research for additional resources!
2. Learn360
https://learn360-infobase-gst.orc.scoolaid.net/?aID=135954
Learn360 is a multimedia database that uses documentaries, interactive lessons and videos, and educational videos to support learning. This resource is also available to all students through our 24/7 databases located on our library webpage. Content available on Learn360 has been provided through trusted and reliable sources to ensure accuracy. Use the search feature to locate information specifically on your topic.
Books
These books can be found in our library or are available to loan through another library in our region. Please come see Mrs. Flood in the library to help locate the title or request the title from another district.
Location: 937 SON
Looking for an engaging and illustrated book to provide an overview of Ancient Rome? This is the book for you! This book will provide you with an introduction to Ancient Rome. You will learn about everyday life, religion, politics, and inventions. The captions also provide additional information to support understanding of new vocabulary. This is the perfect title to get the ball rolling as you start your Ancient Rome research!
Location: 937 HUN
This title takes an in-depth look at Roman society. You will learn about the history and culture of Roman society as well. The photographs and detailed maps help create meaningful connections with information from the text. Readers will also be able to learn more about the Roman contributions that have made a lasting impact. If you are looking for a more detailed overview of everyday life during Ancient Rome, this is a great title to check out!
Location: 937 NAR
This is another great title available in our library that examines the history and culture of Ancient Rome. This text also examines the lasting impact Romans made on modern culture. You will also read about Roman government, politics, architecture, and more! How does city life today compare to the cities of Ancient Rome? At the back of the book you will find a list for further reading as well!
Additional Resources
These sources can be found by navigating through the URL provided. When using any resource (especially those online!) always remember to use the C.R.A.A.P test to evaluate the source! Here is a recap on the C.R.A.A.P test in case you need a refresher!
C- Currency (When was the information posted or created? Does your topic require up-to-date information?
R- Relevancy (Does the information pertain to your topic?)
A- Authority (Who created or wrote the information? Do they have any credentials that make them a trustworthy source?)
A- Accuracy (Does the information in this source match other sources? Is there any bias?)
P- Purpose (What is the purpose of the information? Is it satire? Is it to persuade, inform, sell or entertain?)
Looking for information about Ancient Rome that has been updated recently? Updated in July 2024, you will find a comprehensive overlook of Ancient Rome. From the beginning to the fall of the Roman Empire, you will find information that will support your research. There are photographs, videos and even a table of contents to help you navigate. The information has many contributors and has even been fact checked by Britannica. Contributors include professors from Harvard and Yale that specialize in ancient civilizations and Rome.
2. British Museum: Introduction to Ancient Rome
It is unlikely that we can go to a museum exhibit on Ancient Rome. However, the British Museum has made this exhibit accessible for you online! You can read about the history of Ancient Rome, the political structure, challenges Romans faced, and more! Don’t forget to look at the images provided of the objects found in the exhibit. There is also an option to “Visit Room 70” which includes more images of artifacts from Ancient Rome.
This online Encyclopedia is a great resource to locate information about any ancient civilization. Each submission has been carefully reviewed to ensure reliability. It is a non-profit organization that was founded in 2009 with the goal of creating a reliable and comprehensive resource. It was first focused solely on ancient history, which makes this resource the perfect addition to our ancient civilization project. Use the search feature to locate information about your civilization. You will be able to locate information on Ancient Greece, Ancient Rome, the Maya Empire, Han and Qin Dynasties, Gupta Empire, and the Mauryan Empire.