Reference Resources
Using the school's Library Webpage, navigate to our 24/7 Research Databases. The databases are listed alphabetically. The username and password is the same for each database.
Username: This will be generated through school device
Password: book
1. Britannica School
https://school-eb-gst.orc.scoolaid.net/levels/high
Britannica School is an online resource available to all students in our 24/7 databases located on our library webpage. You will find high-quality and reliable content to meet all your research needs. Britannica School provides articles, multimedia resources, and items for further research. Britannica School also offers a choice of elementary, middle and high school to ensure content is best suited for that age range. Be sure to look at the further research for additional resources!
2. Learn360
https://learn360-infobase-gst.orc.scoolaid.net/?aID=135954
Learn360 is a multimedia database that uses documentaries, interactive lessons and videos, and educational videos to support learning. This resource is also available to all students through our 24/7 databases located on our library webpage. Content available on Learn360 has been provided through trusted and reliable sources to ensure accuracy. Use the search feature to locate information specifically on your topic.
Books
These books can be found in our library or are available to loan through another library in our region. Please come see Mrs. Flood in the library to help locate the title or request the title from another district.
Location: 938 CON
This title is available in our library. Using eye-catching illustrations and text features, this title will help you navigate life in Ancient Greece. You will also learn about Ancient Greek mythology, art, architecture, politics. With only 32 pages, the information will be robust while also feeling like a quick read. At the back of the book it provides additional resources that will further your search process beyond the text.
Location: 355.02 RIC
Looking for specific information about warfare in Ancient Greece? This title is exactly what you are looking for and is available today in the High School library! This title is another short read, with only a little over thirty pages. However, it is full of information about invasions, warrior, catapults, and more! You will learn about daily life of a soldier during Ancient Greece. You will also learn about inventions that not only helped defend the Greeks, but also how they advanced their empire.
Additional Resources
These sources can be found by navigating through the URL provided. When using any resource (especially those online!) always remember to use the C.R.A.A.P test to evaluate the source! Here is a recap on the C.R.A.A.P test in case you need a refresher!
C- Currency (When was the information posted or created? Does your topic require up-to-date information?
R- Relevancy (Does the information pertain to your topic?)
A- Authority (Who created or wrote the information? Do they have any credentials that make them a trustworthy source?)
A- Accuracy (Does the information in this source match other sources? Is there any bias?)
P- Purpose (What is the purpose of the information? Is it satire? Is it to persuade, inform, sell or entertain?)
1.
This is an eBook that you can read through our collection on EBSCOhost. There are an unlimited number of copies available. While you can’t download the entire book, you are able to download, print, email or save 100 pages. You will find a table of contents that will support navigating the eBook. This navigation tool will be helpful as you sift through mythology related to Ancient Greece and Ancient Rome. Pay careful attention to the information and the civilization. The title provides an alphabetical list of all things mythology. You will not only learn about the gods and goddesses, but the legends, myths and fables that relate to them. The title also discusses ancient art and its influence as well.
National Geographic Ancient Greece 101
This YouTube video was created by National Geographic. While it is a short clip, it might be a great place to start to learn a quick overview of Ancient Greece. This would help develop a foundation of background information. While the overview is brief, it still provides invaluable information in an engaging way. You will learn about leaders, art, politics, and the lasting influence of Ancient Greece. The maps used in the video will help build geographical understanding as well.
This online Encyclopedia is a great resource to locate information about any ancient civilization. Each submission has been carefully reviewed to ensure reliability. It is a non-profit organization that was founded in 2009 with the goal of creating a reliable and comprehensive resource. It was first focused solely on ancient history, which makes this resource the perfect addition to our ancient civilization project. Use the search feature to locate information about your civilization. You will be able to locate information on Ancient Greece, Ancient Rome, the Maya Empire, Han and Qin Dynasties, Gupta Empire, and the Mauryan Empire.