Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Political Science

This guide provides information about online sources for political science research.

International Relations

Amnesty International

Source for information regarding the state of human rights in countries throughout the world.

Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

The Endowment is self described as "a private, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing cooperation between nations and promoting active international engagement by the United States." It working papers and reports are available from its web site.

Center for Strategic & International Studies

CSIS provides background and research informationon international affairs from both geographical and functional perspectives. Among its publications is the journal The Washington Quarterly.

Center for Systemic Peace

Provides information on political violence (both internal and between states) in the world. Has a separate section devoted to African political violence. Maintained by Monty G. Marshall, Center for Global Policy , George Mason University.

Central Intelligence Agency

Information about the C.I.A. and its activities including the text of reports such as the World Factbook. The FOIA Electronic Reading Room provides full text access to selected CIA documents.

Chatham House

Formerly known as the Royal Institute of International Affairs, this UK think tank provides independent analysis of international issues. Many of its reports and briefing papers are available for free from its web site.

Council on Foreign Relations

A nonpartisan organization promoting discussion on important international issues. Includes the fulltext of articles written by its members, some UN documents, US government briefing.

Foreign Relations of the United States

There are more than 350 volumes in the official Foreign Relations of the United States series. More than 20 are now available in their entirety online. The site also maintains a complete list of all 350 plus volumes.

Freedom House

Provides information on press freedom in countries throughout the world.

Guide to Law Online

"The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information."

Institute for Science and International Security

"ISIS is a non-profit, non-partisan institution dedicated to informing the public about science and policy issues affecting international security. Its efforts focus on stopping the spread of nuclear weapons, bringing about greater transparency of nuclear activities worldwide". Includes the full-text of some of their reports.

International Institute for Strategic Studies

Founded in in 1958, the International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) conducts and publishes researh on international conflicts.

International security Resources.com

Quality information, loosely organized by topical area. Site created and maintained by Richard Horowitz.

ISN: International Relations and Security Network

Government and academic information organized by subject, region, current events, etc. Together with the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) provides access to FIRST: facts on international relations and security trends a collection of databases dealing with international issues.

National Security Archive

Maintained at George Washington University provides access to U.S. declassified documents dealing with international affairs. Some documents require a subscription but many are available thru its Electronic Briefing Books.

Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC)

This site (maintained at Syracuse University) provides information on U.S. federal immigration enforcement, staffing, and spending.

U.S. State Department

Provides access to the text of policy statements, reports, treaties, and other information.

Washington Files

This United States Information Agency (U.S.I.A.) site provides the text of documents pertaining to international affairs.

Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

Thw Wilson Center sponsors scholarship dealing with international affairs including the Cold War International History Project. Much of the scholarship is available full text.

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources

An index to over 2000 sites. Access by type of organization, region or country, topics, etc. This section of the WWW Virtual Library is maintained at Elizabethtown College by Professor Wayne A. Selcher.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Angela Hackstadt
she/her
Contact:
Dewey Library 202
University at Albany
442-3698