Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Native American Law

This is an introductory guide for anyone interested in researching current Native American Law or the history of the relationship between Native American tribes and the US government.

Native American Representatives

As of the 117th Congress, there are four Native Americans in Congress.

  • Tom Cole, Chickasaw. (R) Oklahoma 4th Congressional District
  • Sharice Davids, Ho-Chunk. (D) Kansas 3rd Congressional District
  • Yvette Harrell, Cherokee. (R) New Mexico 2nd Congressional District
  • Markwayne Mullin, Cherokee (R). Oklahoma 2nd Congressional District

A fifth Native American Representative, Deb Haaland, resigned in 2021 to serve as Secretary of the U.S. Department of the Interior.

There are currently no Native Americans serving in the U.S. Senate.

Deb Haaland

On March 15, 2021, Deb Haaland (Laguna Pueblo) became the first Indigenous woman to serve as a U.S. cabinet member. Sec. Haaland previously served as the Representative for New Mexico's 1st Congressional District. She and Rep. Sharice Davids of Kansas were the first Indigenous women elected to Congress.

Sharice Davids

Representative Sharice Davids (Ho-Chunk) was elected to represent Kansas's 3rd Congressional District in 2018. She and Deb Haaland are the first Native American women elected to Congress. Rep. Davids is also the first openly gay Indigenous woman to serve in Congress.