Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Brief Guide to Research in Educational Policy & Leadership: Getting Started

Library Information

Library Hours

Library Instruction and Tutorials

This site provides online library tours, research tutorials, and instructions on how to find resources on various topics.

Find Library Resources

Primo - The Library Discovery Service

Use Primo to find books, journal titles, videos, audios, government documents, and other items owned by our libraries.
 

Database Finder

Use databases and indexes to find articles.

Getting Started

When starting to work on a new research topic, it is helpful to gain an overview of the topic first. Subject encyclopedias and handbooks provide background information, theories, key authors, significant events, and issues surrounding this topic. They also provide explanations of terminology and the jargon for the field, introduce you to subtopics, and lead you to other relevant sources through a list of references at the end of each entry. They can help you narrow or expand your topic.

Encyclopedias

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Classroom Management UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LB3013 .S237 2015 WWW

Encyclopedia of Education Economics & Finance UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LB2824 .E53 2014 WWW

Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education UAlbany Access Icon

Online / LC 1099 E53 2012 WWW

International Education: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues and Systems

University Library REF LB 15 I565 2012

Encyclopedia of African American Education UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LC 2771 E63 2010 WWW

Encyclopedia of Educational Reform and Dissent UAlbany Access Icon

Online/LB 2805 E528 2010 WWW

Encyclopedia of Education Law UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: KF 4117 E53 2008 WWW

Handbooks

The SAGE Guide to Educational Leadership and Management UAlbany Access Icon

Online / Reference: LB2805 .S2618 2015 WWW

Handbook of Education Policy Research

University Library Oversized* LC 71 H363 2009

 

Subject Guide

Yu-Hui Chen's picture
Yu-Hui Chen
Contact:
University Library, LI-304
University at Albany, SUNY
518-442-3586