Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Brief Guide to Research in Educational Policy & Leadership: Finding Articles

Library Information

Library Hours

Library Instruction and Tutorials

This site provides online library tours, research tutorials, and instructions on how to find resources on various topics.

Find Library Resources

Primo - The Library Discovery Service

Use Primo to find books, journal titles, videos, audios, government documents, and other items owned by our libraries.
 

Database Finder

Use databases and indexes to find articles.

Finding Articles

Journal articles are essential sources for current information on very focused topics. You can find articles in scholarly journals, trade journals, newspapers, and popular magazines. However, very often you will be expected to use articles from scholarly journals (also known as peer-reviewed or refereed journals) for research papers because they must be reviewed by subject experts before they are published. Thus, articles presented in scholarly journals are more authoritative than those in other types of publications.

Below are some examples of databases that index articles in scholarly journals:

Core Databases

ERIC UAlbany Access Icon
Education Source  UAlbany Access Icon
Educational Administration Abstracts  UAlbany Access Icon
OECD iLibrary UAlbany Access Icon

Major Relevant Interdisciplinary Databases

Dissertations & Theses Global  UAlbany Access Icon
Nexis Uni (Lexis Nexis) UAlbany Access Icon
Social Sciences Full Text UAlbany Access Icon
Sociological Abstracts  UAlbany Access Icon
Web of Science  UAlbany Access Icon

Search Tips

  1. Identify key concepts in your research question and put them in separate search boxes.
  2. Put phrases in quotation marks. For example: "cultural revolution"
  3. Use truncation symbol * at the root of a word to find variations of the search term. For example, if you type connect*, the database will look for connect, connects, connected, connecting, connection, connectivity.
  4. When you find too many records, search one or more key concept in the field of Title, Subject term, or Abstract.
  5. When you find too few records, try to use synonyms of your key concepts in your searches. If you still can not find sufficient records, broaden up your research topic.

Subject Guide

Yu-Hui Chen's picture
Yu-Hui Chen
Contact:
University Library, LI-304
University at Albany, SUNY
518-442-3586