Skip to main content
Home

Citation Help

MLA Style

Modern Language Association (MLA) style is used primarily for research papers in the arts and humanities.  Below is the style guide from the MLA. 

Image result for mla handbook imageModern Language Association. (2016). (8th ed.). MLA Handbook. New York: Modern Language Association of America. The call number is LB 2369 G53 2016.  Copies of the manual can be found in the reference collections in the University, Science, and Dewey Libraries.

 

As a companion to the eighth edition of the handbook, the MLA also provides a website, style.mla.org, which includes example citations not found in the handbook, FAQs about citing sources, a practice template, and paper-formatting guidelines.

Citation Fox - MLA Style

CitationFox MLA - Get your citation examples!

CitationFox-MLA helps with the construction of citations in MLA style. It is based on the 8th edition of the Modern Language Association of America's style manual, MLA Handbook (available in the University and Dewey Libraries: REF LB2369 .G53 2016). Individuals in the arts and humanities disciplines primarily use this style guide. CitationFox-MLA contains templates and examples for over 900 different resource types. This guide is a selection from what is covered in the section, "Organize: Creating your Documentation," (pp. 19-53) in the MLA Handbook, which should be consulted for a further explanation of this citation style.

To use CitationFox:

  1. Choose the type of source you need to cite (books, journal/periodical articles, online and WWW sources, miscellaneous print and online).
  2. Continue selecting from the options for format, number of authors, etc., until you see "show example".
  3. Once you click on "show example" you will see the general format for a citation for the source you need to cite, as well as specific examples.  Construct your citation following this format.

For help with formatting in text (parenthetical) citations, see Purdue OWL's MLA In-Text Citations: The Basics, or refer to the section on in-text citations on pages 116-126 of the MLA Handbook.

In-Text Citations

For help formatting in-text  (parenthetical) citations in MLA style, see Purdue OWL's MLA In-Text Citations: The Basics, or refer to the section on in-text citations on pages 116-126 of the MLA Handbook.