Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Basic Information
When undertaking a research project, it may be a good idea to begin with some reference resources that provide background information on your topic. Subject-specific encyclopedias and handbooks provide useful and relevant overviews of a topic - they may also help you find a way to narrow your topic. Most encyclopedias and handbooks also include bibliographies at the end of each entry. These bibliographies will often list the "classic" or landmark articles on a topic.Citation searches can be done to find more recent articles that cite these landmark articles -- Ask a Librarian!
Oxford Encyclopedia of Social Work by
Online encyclopedia that is continuously revised with new entries and updated content relating to social work and social welfare. Print version is from 2008 and resides in the Dewey Library Reference Collection.
Social Workers' Desk Reference by
Call Number: Dewey Library / Reference: HV 40 S6464 2009
Publication Date: 2002-01-17
This useful volume provides the basics on a variety of aspects of social work practice. The work covers everything from the typical day of various social work roles to ethics, assessment, community practice, evidence based practice and more. It is written in an easy to read style with many client stories and charts of key section points.
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare by
Call Number: Dewey Library Reference HV 40 C635 2008
Publication Date: 2008-03-07
This four volume handbook covers the Profession of Social Work, Human Behavior in the Social Environment, Social Work Practice, Social Policy and Policy Practice. It has excellent in-depth overviews of pressing issues in these subject areas.