Visit the Science Library reference stacks on the first floor for many more titles!
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences by 
A Dictionary of Biology by 
Henderson's Dictionary of Biology by 
Plants of the World by 
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by 
The Merck Index by 
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought by 
Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs by 
Encyclopedia of Human Genetics and Disease by Illustrated dictionary containing terms associated with biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cellular biology, and genetics.
The revised edition of the Encyclopedia of Bioethics is a complete revision. It contains 448 articles covering a broad range of bioethics issues, from cloning to nanotechnology. Many articles begin with a history of the topic.
This encyclopeida covers deserts and semideserts of the world. There are early 700 entries on topics from desert survival to the way deserts are formed.
The second edition of this encyclopedia "addresses the new frontiers that have opened in the area of addictive studies, including the biological basis for addiction and recent enhancements in diagnosis and treatment."
A biological encyclopedia covering biochemistry, cell biology, developmental biology, evolution, genetics & molecular biology, immunology, microbiology & virology, neuroscience, plant science, structural biology, and other related areas; currently under development with completion date of Fall 2001.
The Encyclopedia of Public Heath covers a range of topics such as "environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics, and diseases. Includes overviews, definitions, and biographical entries."
The Encyclopedia of Earth is a "new electronic resource about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. It is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The articles are written in non-technical language." Althougt the Encyclopedia is a wiki, all content is reviewed and approved by editors prior to being published.
The third edition (2003) of the Environmental Encyclopedia "provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. The articles are written in a nontechnical style and furnish current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible."
This encyclopedia "presents current, unbiased information on alternative and complementary medical practices, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda, and osteopathy."
Edited by Richard Robinson, this 4-volume encyclopedia contains a comprehensive collection of articles on all aspects of genetics.
Access the full text of the second edition (2004) of Grzimek's. This encyclopedia contains revised information as well as recent developments in the animal world.
The Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy contains over 250 illustrated articles, covering all topics in the field of energy. It also includes biographies.
This encyclopedic work covers the medicinal uses for plants from around the world. It includes illustrations and descriptions of each plant, all of which are cross-referenced. It also contains the plant's chemical constituents and usage.
Merriam-Webster contains definitions of more than 59,000 medical terms. The dictionary may be searched or browsed, and links to additional information on other health and medical Web sites are also provided.
Oxford Reference Online provides access to several resources in its Biological Sciences section. They may be searched separately at the links below:
