Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Biological Sciences: Databases & Indexes

A guide to resources!

Library Quick Guides

 

                                                                                                                                                           --

 

Sources

Agricola. Accessible to University at Albany users only Major agriculture resource, also very good for plant ecology and forestry. Covers over 5,000 journals.

Biological Abstracts. Accessible to University at Albany users only Covers a wide range of biology topics including: Biochemistry, ecology, neuroscience, botany, genetics etc. Tries to be comprehensive world-wide. Covers about 4,000 journals. The Science Library also has 1926-2001 in print. [SCIENCE REF / Index QH 301 B37]

MEDLINE.Accessible to University at Albany users only  Primary biomedical resource on PubMed. It covers about 3,900 biomedical journals. (MEDLINE with Full text (via EBSCO) Accessible to University at Albany users only is also available.)

Google Scholar. Large important multidisciplinary database with good coverage of  biology as well as all aspects of science. 

SciFinder Scholar.Accessible to University at Albany users only  Primary chemistry source, available 1907+. SciFinder Scholar is the online version of Chemical Abstracts and includes the CAplus database, the CAS Registry file, and Medline. It contains citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations, as well as chemical substance and reaction information. Users may search it by author, subject, chemical name, registry number, or chemical structure. It requires special client software and an Internet connection. SciFinder Scholar is available on workstations near the Science Library Reference desk. The client software is also available to University at Albany faculty, students, and staff. For instructions on downloading SciFinder Scholar client software, please contact Kathleen Flynn, subject librarian for chemistry, at kflynn@albany.edu.

Web of Science (WOS) Accessible to University at Albany users only Multi-disciplinarey database that is especially strong in biology and science. 

Additional databases and indexes in biology...

Subject Guide