Profiles in Science contains the archival collections of prominent 20th century biomedical scientists. The collections have been donated to the National Library of Medicine and contain published and unpublished materials, including books, journal volumes, pamphlets, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, audio tapes, and other audiovisual materials.
This four-volume set profiles some of the 20th century's most prolific scientists, both living and deceased. Scientists from around the world are featured, including 225 female scientists, nearly 150 Asian-, African-, Hispanic-, and Native North American scientists, as well as nearly 75 scientists from countries outside Western Europe and North America. Outstanding individuals covered include: British chemist Dorothy Crowfoot-Hodgkin; Austrian zoologist Konrad Lorenz; and French AIDS researcher Luc Montagnier. Entries are arranged alphabetically to assist researchers locate specific individuals quickly, and each 750-2500 word essay provides personal and career information, including a list of major writings and resources for further information.
The compilation, based on sixty conversations, examines unique challenges that women with serious scientific aspirations face. In addition to addressing challenges and the unjustifiable underrepresentation of women at the higher levels of academia, Hargittai takes a balanced approach by discussing how some of the most successful of these women have managed to obtain professional success and personal happiness.Women Scientists portrays scientists from different backgrounds, different geographical regions-eighteen countries from four continents-and leaders from a variety of professional backgrounds, including eight Nobel laureate women.
Celebrating a century of revolutionary contributions to our understanding of life, the world, and the universe, this encyclopedic desk reference traces the discoveries that earned nearly 500 distinguished scientists Nobel honors in the areas of chemistry, physics, and medicine.
Charles Darwin: A Reference Guide to His Life and Works provides an important new compendium presenting a detailed chronology of all aspects Darwin's life. The extensive encyclopedia section includes many hundreds of entries of various kinds related to Darwin - people, places, institutions, concepts, and his publications. The bibliography provides a comprehensive listing of the vast majority of Darwin's works published during and after his lifetime. It also provides a more selective list of publications concerning his life and work. -Includes a nearly year by year chronology detailing Charles Darwin's life, family, and work. -The A to Z section includes many entries on concepts and people important in Charles Darwin's life and his work, emphasizing during his lifetime but extending somewhat backwards and forwards from there. -The bibliography includes all of Charles Darwin's articles and books published in his lifetime in English and other languages, as well as a selective list of works about him and his work. -The index thoroughly cross-references the chronological and encyclopedic entries.
Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists by 
Women Scientists by 
A Century of Nobel Prize Recipients by 
Charles Darwin by 