Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Geography: A Research Guide: Facts and Statistics

This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for locating information pertaining to geography using both print and electronic resources available through the University at Albany Libraries.

Library Quick Links

Electronic Statistical Resources

Reference Books--Worldwide

The following is a sample of materials containing statistical information relevant to geography.  Books can be found in the Reference Area of the University Library:

  • FAO Statistical Yearbook.  Rome: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, 2004-.  The FAO Statistical Yearbook provides a selection of indicators on food and agriculture by country. [ULIB Ref HD 1421 F587X]
  • Human Development Reports.  New York: United Nations Development Programme.  Global reports provide statistics covering several composite indices for human development around the world. Each report focuses on a current development theme.  [ULIB Ref HD 72 H85X]  Global, regional and national Human Development Reports are also available online
  • Demographic Yearbook.  New York: Dept. of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistical Office, United Nations.  This reference work presents statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce. It also includes some special topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language. [ULIB Ref HA 17 D45]  Also available online
  • Cities Ranked & Rated.  Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley, c2004-  Covers U.S. and Canadian metropolitan areas.  [ULIB Ref HN 60 S284]

 

Reference Books--Area Specific

These sources are specific to a country or region:

  • African Development Indicators.   New York: United Nations Development Programme, 2009.  Provides African economic and social data.  [ULIB Ref HC 800 A1 A356]
  • African Statistical Yearbook.  Addis Ababa : Economic Commission for Africa, United Nations, 2006.  Contains economic, demographic and social data for countries in the region.  [ULIB Ref HA 1955 U5]  Also available online.  
  • International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia and Oceania 1750-2005. Brian Mitchell. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007. [ULIB Ref  HA 4675 M552 2007 ]
  • International Historical Statistics: Americas 1750-2005, Brian Mitchell. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007. [Ref HA 175 M55 2007]
  • Asian Marketing Data and Statistics.   London : Euromonitor International, 2008.  Provides demographics, economic indicators, labor data, consumer information and more for Asian countries.  [ULIB Ref HF 5415.12 A78 A85X]
  • Asia-Pacific in Figures.  New York : United Nations, Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, 2006.  Provides selected socio-economic indicators on population; health, education and culture; national accounts and prices; trade; transport and tourism; finance; labor force and production; natural resources and environment; and development.  [ULIB Ref HA 4551 A85X]
  • Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific.  Bangkok: Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, 2008.   [ULIB Ref HC 411 U4 A23]
  • Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific.   Bangkok: Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, United Nations, 2007.  Contains statistical data on the social economic and environmental development of the Asian and Pacific region from 1990 forward.   [ULIB Ref HC 411 A1 U56X].  An online version is also available.  
  • Statistical Abstract, India.   Delhi: Manager of Publications, 2006.  [ULIB Ref HA 1713 A732]  Also available online (inactive)  from the Indian Ministry of Statistics.  Data is free, but the site requires registration.  http://www.mospi.gov.in/mospi_cso_rept_pubn.htm
  • Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia.  London, England: Europa Publications, 2009.  Extensive coverage of the political, economic and social affairs of the region, including the latest statistics on the major economic indicators and population.   [ULIB Ref HC 244 A1 E293X]
  • International Historical Statistics: Europe 1750-2005, by Brian Mitchell. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.  [ULIB Ref HA 1107 M5 2007]
  • Central and South-Eastern Europe.  London: Europa Publications, 2009.  Data for each country includes country include a description of physical and social geography; a chronology and a statistical survey. [ULIB Ref HC 244 A1 C45X]
  • Consumer Western Europe.   London: Euromonitor International, 2009.   Provides economic indicators, demographics and labor information, in addition to marketing data for countries in Western Europe. [ULIB Ref HD 7022 C68]
  • Caribbean Region Profile. Miami: Caribbean Pub. Co., 2006.  Provides economic indicators, economic summaries and forecasts, trade and investment incentives, and industry sector data for individual countries and the region.  [ULIB Ref HF 3311.8 C35]
  • South America, Central America, and the Caribbean.  London: Europa Publications Ltd., 2008.  Includes an economic and demographic survey of the latest available statistics on area and population, health and welfare, agriculture, forestry, fishing, mining, industry, finance, trade, transport, tourism, communications media and education for countries in the region.  [ULIB Ref F 1414.2 S68X]  
  • Consumer Middle East.  London: Euromonitor, 2005.   Contains economic, demographic, housing and trade statistics for countries in the region.  [ULIB Ref HC 415.15 Z9 C616]

 

 

Subject Librarian: Geography & Planning

Profile Photo
Priscilla Seaman
Contact:
University at Albany, SUNY
University Library, LI-228
518-442-3546