Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Geography: A Research Guide: Biographies

This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for locating information pertaining to geography using both print and electronic resources available through the University at Albany Libraries.

Library Quick Links

Biographical Sources


Biographical information about geographers can be found in a variety of traditional sources, in addition to those biographical compilations mentioned below. 

Use the online catalog in the Library Quick Links box to the left, to find biographies of specific geographers.  Search the name of the geographer as the subject.

  • American Geographers, 1784-1812 :A Bio-bibliographical Guide, by Ben A. Smith and James W. Vining.  Gives short biographies and bibliographies of American geographers, cartographers, surveyors, and authors of related books.  [ULIB G 67 Z999 S65 2003]
  • Geographical Voices: Fourteen Autobiographical Essays, edited by Peter Gould and Forrest R. Pitts.   Fourteen geographers from diverse backgrounds explain what lead them to the discipline.  [ULIB G 67 G48 2002]
  • Geographers Biobibliographical Studies, edited by Patrick H. Armstrong and Geoffrey J. Martin.  New York: Continuum.  This series is a collection of scholarly biographical texts chronicling the lives of those who have made a significant contribution to the field of geography.  The work is international in scope, and includes entries for both famous and obscure individuals. New volumes are published irregularly.  [ULIB Ref  G 67 G46X]
  • Biographical Dictionary of American Geography in the Twentieth Century, compiled by Gary S. Dunbar.  Baton Rouge: Geoscience Publications, 1996.   Contains brief entries including birth and death dates, place of birth and parents, earned academic degrees, and employment history.  [ULIB Ref  G 67 D86 1996]
  • Biographical Dictionary of Geography, by Robert P. Larkin and Gary L. Peters.  Westport: Greenwood Press, 1993.  Includes a select list of geographers chosen for their importance to geography and for representation of its subfields. Describes the geographer's life, academic attainment, contribution to geography, brief bibliography, and when available, provides other biographical references.  [ULIB Ref G 67 L37 1993]

Subject Librarian: Geography & Planning

Profile Photo
Priscilla Seaman
Contact:
University at Albany, SUNY
University Library, LI-228
518-442-3546