Skip to Main Content

UAlbany's Draft Open Access (OA) Policy

Information for the University at Albany community about the draft Open Access Policy

Policy Timeline

On March 22, 2018, the then SUNY Chancellor, Kristina Johnson, issued a memo directing all SUNY campuses to "development of campus-specific open access policies for faculty, student, and staff scholarship and creative works and the creation of searchable repositories." (Read the full memo for more details.)

In November, 2018, the Council on Libraries, Information Systems, and Computing (LISC) created an Open Access Policy Work Group charged by the Provost's Office to create a UAlbany-specific policy.

On October 4, 2019, the LISC Open Access Policy Work Group shared the final draft Open Access Policy with the Provost's Office for review. 

In October, 2019, the LISC Open Access Policy Work Group shared the final draft Open Access Policy with UAlbany's United University Professions leadership and addressed questions, clarifying that the policy is created by peers and is committed to serving faculty, staff, and student interests.

On October 17, 2019, the University Senate hosted an open "Forum on Openness at UAlbany," where members of the LISC Open Access Policy Work Group spoke about open access, the policy, and its benefits for the UAlbany community.

On October 22, 2019, the University Libraries hosted a Q&A session with Mark McBride, SUNY, Office of Library and Information Services, Billie Franchini, Director of UAlbany's Institute for Teaching, Learning and Academic Leadership, and Jerry Marschke, Associate Professor of Economics, discussing UAlbany's Open Access Policy development. 

On November 6, 2019, the Provost discussed the Open Access Policy with the Dean's Council. Campus Governance Leaders from the Senate's University Planning and Policy Council (UPPC) and Governance Council were consulted for feedback. It was subsequently reviewed by the Office of General Counsel, Human Resources, and Enterprise Risk Management.

On January 18, 2021, Enterprise Risk Management, the University Libraries, and Senate Leadership reconvened on the Open Access Policy to move this to UPPC for discussion before presenting this to the Senate.

LISC OA Policy Work Group Members

  • Marcus Adams, Associate Professor, Philosophy
  • Marius Beceanu, Assistant Professor, Mathematics & Statistics
  • Billie Franchini, Director, Institute for Teaching, Learning, and Academic Leadership
  • Lenore Horowitz, Professor of Practice, College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity
  • Matt Ingram, Associate Professor, Political Science
  • Emily Kilcer, Scholarly Communication Librarian
  • Satyendra Kumar, Associate Vice President for Research, Grants Development
  • Gerald Marschke, Associate Professor, Economics
  • Ajay Raghavendra, Graduate Student, Atmospheric Science
  • Benjamin Shaw, Professor, Health Policy, Management and Behavior; Associate Dean for Research, School of Public Health
  • Lindsay Van Berkom, Scholars Archive Administrator & Coordinator of Dewey Access Services
  • Theodore Wilson, Assistant Professor, School of Criminal Justice
  • Robert Yagelski, Associate Vice Provost and Director of the Program in Writing and Critical Inquiry
  • Daphney Stavrolua Zois, Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering