Digital Exploration
Archives for the Unexplained
Located in Norrköping, Sweden, Archives for the Unexplained is purported to be the largest UFO and paranormal archive in the world. For those who cannot schedule a visit anytime soon, its website offers a wealth of digitally accessible archival material. From books to newspaper clippings, UFO reports, audio recordings, transcripts, and more, there is much for the casual or dedicated researcher to explore. Simply click on the “Collections” tab, then explore their “Downloads.” Also the AFU Shop is an excellent place to find obscure and out-of-print UFO materials.
Archives of the Impossible
https://libguides.rice.edu/impossiblearchives
Author and J. Newton Rayzor Chair in Philosophy and Religious Thought at Rice University, Jeffrey Kripal, is the driving force behind this relatively new archive, which has focused on acquiring collections of personal papers from figures such as Vallée, Mack, and other notable Ufologists. Unfortunately, the records that have been digitized are not currently open to the public via the website. Moreover, finding which materials within a collection are digitized is not readily apparent. It is recommended that users click on the “Digital Materials” tab and enter the name of the collection in the filters search bar to find more info on digitized records. If researchers wish to access the content remotely, they can do so by filling out an online request form. One can, however, instantly access recorded oral histories from many of the collection contributors on the site's homepage.
The Black Vault
https://www.theblackvault.com/documentarchive/
“You’ve stumbled upon the largest privately run online repository of declassified government documents anywhere in the world. With more than 3 MILLION pages of documents to read…” Thus begins one’s trip into John Greenewald’s Black Vault. Greenewald started the project when he was only 15 years old and continues to doggedly file FOIA claims and post his findings on his website. While not solely dedicated to UFO research, Greenewald is very present and vocal in the debate surrounding government witnesses and government involvement in the UFO phenomenon. His site houses thousands of publicly-released documents straight from the US government that will lead one into a very deep and interesting rabbit hole.
The Center for UFO Studies (CUFOS)
Dr. J. Allen Hynek was the scientific advisor on Project Blue Book, one of the US government’s formal investigations into the UFO phenomenon that took place throughout the 1950s and 60s. In that role he was mainly a debunker of witness sightings, providing alternative explanations that were often, by his own admission, specious in nature. However, following Blue Book Hynek renounced his skepticism and went on to found CUFOS. The CUFOS website is a treasure trove of primary source documents related to famous UFO cases and the National Investigations Committee on Aerial Phenomenon (NICAP), an independent organization that conducted its own UFO investigations at the same time as Blue Book. Start with George Eberhardt’s UFO timeline under the “Resources” tab to get a comprehensive overview of UFO accounts throughout the ages and then move down to the UFO cases tab.
Internet Archive
Well known to many for its amazing collection of online books and digitized media, the Internet Archive can also be a fun place to hunt down old copies of UFO magazines and reviews. Use search terms like “UFO Magazine,” “UFO Review,” “Flying Saucer Magazine” and so forth to access a wealth of archival materials. Many of these publications were produced independently and contain interesting firsthand experiences that are not documented aelsewhere. For a strange encounter that has been the subject of several recent paranormal podcasts, search “Bufora 1978,” and then look for volume 6, number 5.
Eyes On Cinema
https://www.youtube.com/@EyesOnCinema
While in no way purporting to be an archive, this YouTube channel is nevertheless an impressive resource for finding video content that may have otherwise retreated into obscurity. Most videos center on witness interviews culled from various television programs, media reports, audio recordings, and films from the 1950s to the present. The variety of witnesses ranges from government officials to schoolchildren, military personnel, and working people from all walks of life. Though nothing of substance could be discovered about the channel’s creator, they have certainly done an admirable job of collecting films that one would otherwise be hard-pressed to find.
Scribd
Scribd is a digital document library that can be accessed for free or with a subscription. With a subscription you gain access to more PDF downloads, but there are many documents that can be downloaded for free. Similar to Internet Archive, one can find a large store of magazines, articles, and books on the UFO topic that contain firsthand accounts and competing perspectives. Use the suggested search terms listed under the Internet Archive. Happy exploring!