Tips for Searching in Databases
For effective searching in databases you will need to build a search query. This query is made up of essential terms that will appear within the indexed content of potential resources. Boolean operators can be used to connect terms.
- Basic BOOLEAN search may include: Migraines AND Treatment
- Scan relevant articles for search terms you can use to create a new query
- Use the the folder or save history feature (you many need to set up an account to do this) to keep track of search terms you've used.
- Use the thesaurus in the platform to find other terms
- In CINAHL called CINAHL subject headings
- in PubMed and Medline use MESH headings at the bottom of search page
- in Health Source use subjects at the top
- for Web of Science start with a basic BOOLEAN search and slowly build your query
Databases
Use the databases below to find articles, tutorials, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules and more!
- TIP: Use the help function in these platforms to access customized help with optimizing your search.
- Access the full list of nursing recommended databases: Nursing Database Collection
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextA comprehensive index to literature on health, biomedicine, nursing and allied health fields. Articles from 3100 journals as well as books, videos, papers, etc. are indexed.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionThis database provides additional coverage of active journals in nursing and allied health. Since it is also on the Ebscohost platform, it's look and feel is very much like CINAHL. It includes a subject search, Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary and more!
- MEDLINE (PubMed)
National Library of Medicine's premier database in the life sciences, with a concentration in biomedicine. Full text for open access journals, and links to full text for journals the University Libraries subscribe to when available.
Tip: On this platform, you may filter your search results to articles that have associated data. - PubMedPubMed is the premier database of the National Library of Medicine. It includes citations from MEDLINE as well from independent journals and books. Full text retrieval is available from journals that the library subscribes to. Interlibrary loan is available for articles we don't have access to. This resource is useful due to the scope of its coverage in medicine.
- Web of Science Core Collection (1978-present)This interdisciplinary database covers Science subject areas starting from 1983. Users can search document types, subjects, cited references and pubmed ids. This resource is useful for the researcher looking for research conference publications and researcher profile information.
Basic Searching in CINAHL
This tutorial provides some instruction on basic searching using the CINAHL database. CINAHL has lots of functionality and search parameters can be set before the search is executed and filtered once results are retrieved.
Using MeSH Terms
Many of the databases will provide better search results if you replace your search terms with Medical Subject Headings or MeSH. These are official terms that are used in the indexing of articles and other content in databases. The tutorial below explains the benefits and use of medical subject headings so you can retrieve more relevant results.