Reference Resources
This section includes important reference resources that are essential for understanding foundational concepts and practices in the field. These resources provide comprehensive insights into counseling theory, diagnostic criteria, and psychological terminology, offering valuable support for students throughout their academic and professional journey.
-
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR)
by
Publication Date: 2022This manual is the most recent Diagnostic and Statistical Manual by the American Psychiatric Association. This version of the DSM includes updated diagnostic criteria, prevalence data, and clarifies language that was utilized in the previous version of the DSM. It is essential for the diagnosis and treatment of patients, making it a vital reference for professionals, students, and researchers in the field. -
Handbook of Counseling and Counselor Education
by
Publication Date: 2019This handbook provides the latest information on a wide range of issues and developments within the counseling field, including professional orientation and ethics, multicultural counseling developments, developments in research on human growth, assessment and testing, risk prevention, etc. This resource can be considered invaluable to individuals who want to enhance or develop their understanding of the counseling field. -
A Dictionary of Psychology (4th Edition)
by
Publication Date: 2015This is an extensive and authoritative dictionary that covers key areas within the broad umbrella of psychology, including cognition, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, mental health conditions, and research methods. This dictionary can be especially useful for counseling students who need to reference vocabulary and terminology prevalent within the counseling field.
E-Books
This section highlights some e-books that are available to UAlbany students directly through the UAlbany Libraries. Students are able to access these e-books, as well as download chapters or pages that are relevant or helpful to them.
-
Counseling and Therapy: Recent Developments in Theories and Practices
by
ISBN: 9781803555737Publication Date: 2022Traditional theories and methods of counseling and psychotherapy are becoming less useful as the world keeps developing and changing. This eBook provides instructive information on counseling and psychotherapy, including discussions of theoretical innovations and new practice proposals to enhance cultural competence within the field. -
Understanding Therapy: How Different Approaches Solve Real-World Problems
by
ISBN: 9798216030010Publication Date: 2019This eBook explores the different types of psychotherapy, including discussions of the histories, tenets, advantages, and shortcomings of each type. Part 1 explores the histories of the different types, while Part 2 describes the components of the different types, and Part 3 provides real-world cases and outlines how the different therapeutic approaches would address the problem. Readers will be able to learn about the different types of psychotherapies, as well as understand how these different types of therapies approach problems that clients may come to treatment with. -
101 Careers in Counseling
by
ISBN: 9786613593535Publication Date: 2012Graduate-level mental health counseling students are often trying to figure out what career path they want to take. This eBook explores different careers within the counseling profession to help students pick a career that best suits their interests, strengths, and personality. Each career entry includes a job description, salaries, educational and licensing requirements, and challenges.
Print Books
Students are also encouraged to visit our library and explore our print collection, which has valuable resources for mental health counseling. If you need help locating a book in the stacks by call number, our librarians are always available at the services desk to assist you!
-
Interviewing and Diagnostic Exercises for Clinical and Counseling Skills Building
by
Call Number: RC466.B47 2024Publication Date: 2024This book is focused on the teaching and learning of interviewing and diagnostic skills for a variety of mental health professions. It includes practical, hands-on roleplaying and didactic exercises that also provide students with detailed clinical profiles. These profiles include exercises to help the readers develop and hone skills of attentive and reflective listening, asking open and closed-ended questions, responding to nonverbal behavior, and emphasizing the importance of understanding diversity. This second edition is also up-to-date with recent clinical changes from the DSM-5-TR. -
Helping Skills for Counselors and Health Professionals
by
Call Number: BF636.7.C76.D73 2024Publication Date: 2023This book provides a model for foundational helping skills, grounded in a multicultural framework. It teaches concepts that increase counselor awareness of influences on helping skills, communication, and the patient's life, as well as tools for counselors to increase their self-awareness to improve their communication skills. It is a valuable resource for counseling students as they develop and hone their clinical skills, helping them become aware of multicultural competencies. -
Foundations for Clinical Mental Health Counseling
by
Call Number: RC.466.G47 2014Publication Date: 2013This book offers a comprehensive overview of the foundations of the mental health counseling profession. It presents current insights into the field, exploring key trends that inform counseling practices, enhance employability, and support advocacy for both clients and professionals. A valuable resource for those seeking to deepen their understanding of the mental health counseling field.
