Skip to Main Content

CIST Student Sandbox

IST 605: Introduction to Horror Movies

For those interested in the horror genre and how the it is reflected in pop culture and literature

Hello!

Wiene, R. (Director). (1920). The cabinet of Dr. Caligari [Film]. Decla-Film

Welcome!

The horror film genre has been around for well over 100 years. Beginning with Le Manoir du Diable premiering in 1896 to the 2024 remake of Nosferatu set to be released in late December, horror movies have evolved immensely while maintaining a close tie to the classics. As cinema has progressed, the industry has spawned multiple sub-genres of horror. Meaning there is something for everyone, even those with extreme skepticism. The criteria for how to classify a movie as belonging to the genre is more or less open to interpretation. There must be the intent to cause fear or dread. How that is done, is up to the person or people creating the movie. One of the many reasons fans of this genre love it so much is because there is so much room to be creative and push the boundaries of what a horror movie is. 

This libguide is short exploration of the genre's origin, the films that popularized it as well as some recommendations on where to start in terms of what movies to watch for those experiencing choice anxiety (there are 1000s of movies). And finally, information on how these movies intertwine with our society and culture.  

Britannica, T. Editors of Encyclopaedia (2024, October 23). Horror film. Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/art/horror-film

Resources

This is a database provided by EBSCOhost, containing books, full articles, videos and more dedicated to all things related to film and television. It is a comprehensive resource with its content spanning from the early 1900's to present day. The database offers basic search filters like source type, publication, and language. Those wishing to focus their research on publications about the horror genre in cinema only, will find this database very helpful. Access is available for UAlbany students through the library website. 

This is a general database covering numerous topics. It contains a feature in which you are able to explore the content based on subjects. While there is no specific subject dedicated to film/cinema for students to explore, it still contains many different full access publications on the topic. Since this database does not specialize in film or media, those using it may need to use more advanced search techniques to obtain the content they are seeking. Please see the " Reference and Search Tips" tab for more help on this. Like the database listed above, this one also offers similar filter options. Access is available for UAlbany students through the library website. 

Academic Search Ultimate is another general database containing thousands of publications and media files on a wide range of subjects including social sciences and humanities. This is a great source for those wanting to learn more about the interconnections between the horror genre and our society. This database offers the same filter options as the aforementioned sources. Access is also available through the university library. 

Google is the most well known search engine world wide. It is user friendly and generates an astounding variety of search results. This option would be best used to look through sources (i.e.: IMDb, Letterbox, or Rotten Tomatoes) that offer users the ability to look through movie reviews, create lists, and foster community with those who share similar interests. Keep in mind these are, for the most part, public opinion based websites. It does not discredit their reliability. However, they should not be considered academic sources like peer-reviewed articles. Google is also a good source to find online publications about individual movies. From how they were made, interviews with cast members and more.  

Google Scholar is an alternate way to discover scholarly articles for those who do not access to UAlbany's databases. Unlike Google, this version offers academic sources (i.e., articles, journals, etc.) on a wide variety topics from a similarly wide time range. A well-known and trusted search engine, beginner researchers may feel automatically comfortable navigating the website unlike databases. Users have the option to filter their results to show only peer-reviewed sources. However, unlike the databases offered by the university, the list of filters is much smaller. Another thing to keep in mind is a decrease in accessibility for these publications. While there are many articles that offer readers free PDF versions, others are behind a paywall.