Skip to Main Content

CIST Student Sandbox

IST 605: History of Abstract Art

Resources related to the birth and development of abstract art in Europe and the United States.

Bibliography

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

  1. “6-Minute Art History Video – Amadeo Modigliani”     https://video-alexanderstreet-com.libproxy.albany.edu/watch/amadeo-modigliani?utm_campaign=Video&utm_medium=MARC&utm_source=aspresolver
  2. “6-Minute Art History Video – Paul Cezanne”  https://video-alexanderstreet-com.libproxy.albany.edu/watch/paul-cezanne?utm_campaign=Video&utm_medium=MARC&utm_source=aspresolver
  3. “A Brief History of Abstract Art with Turner, Mondrian & More” (online exhibit).  https://www.tate.org.uk/art/brief-history-abstract-art-turner-mondrian-and-more
  4. ArtStor  www.artstor.org/
  5. “Art that changed America” (video) https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/edplca/alma991060560528004801
  6. Barnes, Rob. The Questions Dictionary of Art. 1st ed. Birmingham: Questions Pub., 2002. https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/qlq07b/alma9932205059904808
  7. Carrier, D. (2018). Aesthetic theory, abstract art and Lawrence Carroll. Bloomsbury.  https://doi.org/10.5040/9781350009585
  8. Cave, J., & Whitford, F. (1994). Bauhaus : the face of the 20th century. Monarda Arts.  https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/qlq07b/alma991060583610504801
  9. Chilvers, Ian. The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists. 4th edition. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009.  Print. https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/qlq07b/alma9931872814504808
  10. “Cubism & Abstract Art” (online exhibit).    https://www.moma.org/calendar/exhibitions/2748?installation_image_index=0
  11. Florman, L. (2020). Concerning the Spiritual—and the Concrete—in Kandinsky’s Art. Stanford University Press.  https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/qlq07b/alma9932219797704808
  12. Galenson, David W. Painting Outside the Lines : Patterns of Creativity in Modern Art. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press, 2001. https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/160627p/alma9932224000704808
  13. Goueta, D. (1996). Visual encyclopedia of art history.  https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/1v6089a/WorldCat1124078651
  14. Hottle, Andrew D. Shirley Gorelick (1924-2000) : Painter of Humanist Realism. 1st ed. Newcastle upon Tyne, England: Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2014. Print. https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/qlq07b/alma9932218189004808
  15. “Inventing Abstraction” (online exhibit)  https://www.moma.org/calendar/exhibitions/1273
  16. Marion Nicoll: Silence and Alchemy  Davis, A., Salahub, J. E. (Jennifer E., Sowiak, C., & Herbert, E. 2013). Marion Nicoll : Silence and Aalchemy. University of Calgary Press.  https://doi.org/10.1515/9780804789233
  17. Morgan, A. L. (2017). Historical dictionary of contemporary art. Rowman & Littlefield.  https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/qlq07b/alma9932426545904808
  18. Platt, S. N. (1988). Modernism, Formalism, and Politics: The “Cubism and Abstract Art” Exhibition of 1936 at the Museum of Modern Art. Art Journal, 47(4), 284–295. https://doi.org/10.1080/00043249.1988.10792426
  19. ProQuest Historical Newspapers https://libguides.library.albany.edu/PQHistoricalNewspapers
  20. “Review of The Penguin Concise Dictionary of Art History”  Sykes-Austin, B. (2000). Review of The Penguin Concise Dictionary of Art History. College & Research Libraries, 61(5), 455. American Library Association.  https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/itk8ks/cdi_proquest_journals_199397848
  21. Sykes-Austin, B. (2000). The Penguin Concise Dictionary of Art History [Review of The Penguin Concise Dictionary of Art History]. College & Research Libraries, 61(5), 455-. American Library Association. https://search.library.albany.edu/permalink/01SUNY_ALB/itk8ks/cdi_proquest_journals_199397848
  22. “Watercolor inspired by Kandinsky” (video).  https://video-alexanderstreet-com.libproxy.albany.edu/watch/watercolor-inspired-by-kandinsky?utm_campaign=Video&utm_medium=MARC&utm_source=aspresolver