Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Brief Description of the Collection
The Gonzalo Torrente Ballester Collection at the University at Albany Libraries (SUNY) is the most comprehensive in the U.S. It includes both works by and about the author. Of special importance are his diaries and the two typescripts of Don Juan housed in the M.E. Grenander Department of Special Collections and Archives. The collection also contains first editions of the vast majority of Torrente Ballester's works, many of which are signed by the author.
Related Finding Aid
Roger T. Conant Papers, 1971
Based on Roger T. Conant's account: "Gekas was the inspiration for the main character in Las Isla de los Jacinto Cortados (The Island of the Cut Hyacinths) (1980) by award-winning Spanish novelist Gonzalo Torrente Ballester. Torrente Ballester joined the Department of Romance Languages and Literatures at the University at Albany in 1966 and remained until 1972. During this period, he met Gekas and later wrote about her in the novel which is partially set on and near the University at Albany campus, features some real professors and other students (some named, some with pseudonyms) and focuses on a love triangle. "
Gonzalo Torrente Ballester: one of Spain’s greatest authors lived, taught, and wrote some of his finest works in Albany, New York
Caption of photo above: GTB giving classes at the University at Albany. Col. Fundación Gonzalo Torrente Ballester, Santiago de Compostela (Spain)
Gonzalo Torrente Ballester Foundation
Featured Audio Recordings
"Problemática de la Novela Contemporánea Española" Presentation Conference held at SUNY Cortland in Cortland, New York, Student Campus Center. 1972. Audio recordings (cassettes) donated by Tom O'Connor. Original recordings held at the M.E. Grenander Special Collections and Archives. University at Albany Libraries.
About the exhibit
This exhibit explores—for the first time—his connections to Albany where he lived, taught, and wrote some of his finest works.The first editions of all his works are showcased along with many of his other books.
The exhibit also features a selection of photographs (many never seen before in public) documenting Torrente Ballester’s time in Albany and his unique way of using photography as a tool for his creative process. As part of the exhibit, visitors will be able to listen to GTB teaching classes at what was then called the State University of New York at Albany.