LibGuides: European Union Information: British Parliamentary Papers

British Parliamentary Papers

Pre-19th Century

Parliamentary History of England . . . (1066-1803) (Digital Bodleian)
Known as "Cobbett's Parliamentary History . . ." (36 vols.) and published by T.C. Hansard, it contains compiled records of parliamentary proceedings "from the earliest period to the year 1803." This is also available at HathiTrust.org.
Statutes of the Realm (1225-1713) (HathiTrust)
Statutes enacted from the Magna Carta through the reign of Queen Anne. The last volume is an index.
House of Commons, Journal (1547-1699) (British History Online)
House of Commons, Journal (1640-1918) (HathiTrust.org)

19th Century

Sessional Papers [House of Commons] (1801-1899) (HathiTrust.org)
Digitized from Harvard's print collection
Historic Hansard (1803-2005)
Debates of the House of Commons. Keyword searching. Browsing not available.
Hansard (1803-present)
All Parliamentary debates. Includes both keyword searching and a browse feature for Historic Hansard.

20th Century to Current

U.K Parliament (1980s-current)
Parliament's official website. Includes sessional papers, debates, and votes. Some content starts in the 1990s.
House of Commons Hansard Archives (1988-2016)
Legacy site for the U.K. Parliament. Can also search Historic Hansard here.
Parliamentary Papers (1902-1922) (HathiTrust.org)
Bills, reports, accounts, papers. Includes a few 19th century volumes. Digitized from Ohio State's print collection.

The University Libraries have the following on Readex microcards in the Storage area of the Science Library: British Sessional Papers. House of Commons (1731-1979). Indexes to this set, also in microcard format, are shelved in the basement of the University Library in GovDoc Ref. A microcard reader is available in the University Library in the Lower Level Lab.

The Libraries have several resources pertaining to official U.K. publications. The following may be helpful with regard to parliamentary papers:

Bond's Guide to the Records of Parliament, shelved in GovDoc Ref CD 1063 .B63
Ford's Guide to Parliamentary Papers, shelved at Z 2009.A1 F6 1972A.
Ford List of British Parliamentary Papers 1965-1974 . . ., shelved at Z 2009.A1 F59
Catalogue of Parliamentary Papers, 1801-1900 . . ., shelved at Z 2009 .K55 1972
Checklist of British Parliamentary Papers . . . 1801-1899, shelved at Oversized * Z 2019 .I73
General index to the Bills, Reports and papers . . . 1900-1948/49 & 1959/60-1968/69, shelved in GovDoc Ref J 301.Z999 G45X

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Database of English-language materials printed in the UK during the 18th century. Also includes limited foreign-language titles and many important works from the Americas. There are over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
Early English Books Online
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 -EEBO contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), and the Early English Tract Supplement.