LibGuides: European Union Information: Parliament & Law

Parliament & Law

Consilium
Council of the European Union, the main decision-making body of the European Union.
Decisionmaking in the EU
In general, it is the European Commission that proposes new legislation, but it is the Council and Parliament that pass the laws. The main forms of EU law are directives and regulations. The rules and procedures for EU decision-making are laid down in the treaties.
EUR-Lex
Access to European law
European Parliament
The European Parliament is the only directly-elected body of the European Union. Parliament plays an active role in drafting legislation which has an impact on the daily lives of its citizens
European Parliament Register of Documents - Advanced Search
Contains references to documents drawn up or received by the European Parliament since 2001, as well as some historical materials.
EU treaties
Law
This page provides information on Regulations, Directives and other EU legislative acts.
N-Lex
Central source to national law databases on individual EU countries
OEIL
Legislative Observatory of the European Parliament, a database for monitoring the EU decision-making process.
Official Journal
This site contains electronic copies of all Official Journals since the first edition. Full-text keyword searching available.
Official Journal. Special Edition
The Special Edition of the Official Journal contains the secondary law in force on the date of accession of the given Member State. Browse only.
Summaries of EU Legislation
Short, easy-to-understand explanations of the main legal acts passed by the EU – intended for a general, non-specialist audience.

Westlaw Campus Research
Find full-text law, news, and business sources from the U.S. and countries around the world.
Nexis Uni
Find news from U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs, as well as business profiles, patents, legal research, biography, medicine, and reference. A Source List is available for viewing.

Research Guides

European Union Information

Reference & Gov't Information Librarian

Parliament & Law