Reference Sources: Encyclopedias and Books
-
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science
by
ISBN: 9780028677170Publication Date: 2021-04-02Section on electronics waste provides a general definition of e-waste and its origins, discusses chemical components of e-waste materials and negative environmental impacts of disposal, and include statistics on e-waste generation in the U.S. and worldwide. -
The Science of Waste
by
ISBN: 1032180609Publication Date: 2022-01-01This book examines different types of waste, including e-waste, discussing their material makeup, effects on ecology and human health and their impacts. It also explores options for recycle and reuse. -
Sustainable Solutions for e-Waste and Development
by
ISBN: 9798369310182Publication Date: 2024-02-07This book was designed as a reference source for academic scholars, policymakers and the lay person interested in exploring the scope of the e-waste problem and learning about the ecological and health effects of improper e-waste disposal. It takes an interdisciplinary approach to examining innovative e-waste recycling and management strategies by including perspectives of experts in environmental science, technology and sustainable development fields.
Reports by Governmental Organizations
-
Global E-Waste Monitor 2024Report issued by the United Nations Institute for Training and Research and the International Telecommunications Union. Beginning in 2024, these two organizations entered into a partnership to collect and report data on the status of e-waste production and management, along with government policy and regulations governing e-waste in countries worldwide. The report examines recent technological innovations, the role of economic and environmental factors, and estimates the future outlook of e-waste recycling, based on previous trends and patterns.
-
Children and Digital Dumpsites: E-waste Exposure and Child HealthThis report by the World Health Organization discusses the unique health risks faced by children who live near e-waste dumps in developing countries. In low and middle-income nations concentrated in Asia, Africa and Latin America, informal waste management processes such as open burning and acid leaching are commonly used to treat e-waste in order to allow for extraction of valuable materials such as gold, copper and silver. Toxic chemicals are often emitted into air, water and soil as a result of such methods. The report identifies potential links between childhood exposure to toxic chemicals released by improper e-waste disposal, including impaired neurodevelopment, thyroid and immune system function and respiratory problems, among others. The conclusion asserts that action needs to be taken by global, national and local health authorities alike to ensure this issue becomes a worldwide priority.
Academic Journal Articles
-
E-waste: An assessment of global production and environmental impactsThis 2009 article is from the academic, peer-reviewed journal, Science of the Total Environment. It provides statistics on global e-waste production, discusses problem of environmental contamination from toxic chemicals present in e-waste and its by- products. It also examines dangers that exist for e-waste management workers and those living near e-waste processing locations, especially in developing countries.
-
A global perspective on e-waste recyclingThis 2023 article is from the academic and peer-reviewed journal, Circular Economy. It summarizes recent data on worldwide e-waste production and discusses issues of quantity, value and potential negative environmental impacts of electronic component materials such as precious metals, rare earth elements, plastics and glass fibers. This is done for the purpose of addressing the potential value of recovering some elements for reuse, addressing which ones pose the most significant health concerns for material handlers, and recognizing common obstacles to e-waste recycling. The article also compares laws and regulations governing e-waste in various countries globally.
-
SPECIAL REPORT: E-Waste Management in the United States and Public Health ImplicationsThis 2016 article is from the academic peer-reviewed publication, the Journal of Environmental Health. It focuses on e-waste management practices in the U.S., in relation to public health concerns. The presence of toxic chemicals in the e-waste stream, such as lead leachate from landfills and worker exposure to chemicals at e-scrap facilities are examined. The authors conclude that more assessments are needed to ascertain risks to recycling employees from working with materials containing various toxicants. They also recommend adoption of federal legislation to further restrict e-waste disposal and measures to increase public awareness of issue.
-
E-Waste: A Global HazardThis 2014 article is from the academic and peer-reviewed journal, Annals of Global Health. The authors review the current extent of e-waste production worldwide and problems associated with improper management and disposal methods that often take place in developing countries where a large proportion of e-waste is shipped. They review the dangers posed by informal, non-industrial practices of e-waste recycling to workers and community residents living near e-waste processing locations. Recommendations made by the authors include the need for greater focus on reuse and recovery of equipment before it is dismantled and increased safety measures for e-waste workers.
All of the above-listed articles are "open access", or "read-only" meaning that abstracts along with full text of article can be accessed for free without a database subscription, and no academic or special library membership is required. These articles can be found by either searching Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com/) the Directory of Open Access Journals Index (https://doaj.org/) or going to the database JSTOR (https://www.jstor.org/) which includes a large collection of open access journals.
"Open Access" articles can be read ad downloaded for free but "read-only "ones cannot be downloaded. If you sign up for a free JSTOR account, you are eligible to read the full text of 100 different "read-only" articles every 30 days.
Videos
This 12 minute video produced for a segment on "CBS Sunday Morning", features poverty-stricken residents of the city of Accra in Ghana, who make a living of sorting through e-waste dumps, in an effort to find valuable scrap (such as items containing gold or copper) that they can exchange for money. The news reporter notes that many of the electronics waste items present in Ghana landfills come from industrialized countries like the U.S. He interviews several community members who engage in this practice he refers to as "urban mining". He asks them about negative health effects of their work while indicating that workers are prone to injuries, often toil in sweltering heat, breath in toxic fumes, and usually do not have standard safety equipment. He also notes that children sometimes take part in such work, despite the fact that they are more vulnerable to dangers. The segment also includes interviews with an environmental chemist who detected the presence of PCB's in breastmilk of women living in Ghana, an African scrap dealer interested in changing e-waste management practices in the area, and a Dutch activist working on developing a more sustainable smartphone.