LibGuides: IST 605: [NEW] Educating NYS Consumers About Electronic Waste and Options for Recycling Internal Discussion Board: Databases and Search Tips

Databases to Use for Finding Information on E-Waste Recycling

The listed databases are ideal for the average adult interested in learning about the e-waste proliferation issue, environmental, health and social justice concerns related to improper managing-waste and options for recycling. Any New York State resident has access to the NOVELny databases via the NYS Library website, and you don't have to be a student or member of any specific library to use JSTOR and Google Scholar resources.

JSTOR
This database is a good source for "open access" journal articles that you can download for free. Since JSTOR does not contain open access content exclusively, another good option is "read-only" articles which can be viewed in entirety but not downloaded. When you sign up for an account, JSTOR entitles you to 100 "read-only" articles per month. JSTOR has a large collection of academic, peer-reviewed journals in science and social science fields, which are relevant for topic of e-waste recycling.

JSTOR offers full-text keyword searching across its entire digital library collection, including images and content from articles, books, and pamphlets. Search results default to content licensed or purchased by the UAlbany Libraries, but you can change this setting for your session. JSTOR provides both Basic and some Advanced Search options, to help you find the content they need.
Guide: How To Use JSTOR

NOVELny Database Collection is a group of databases available to every New Yorker, free of charge. It includes full text of hundreds of magazines, newspapers, maps, charts, research and reference books. Databases included are primarily Gale OneFile and Gale Academic File databases on various subjects such as history, psychology, science and the arts, a Brittanica Encyclopedia collection and the New York Times.

Databases most relevant to e-waste recycling in the NOVELny collection include the Gale OneFile Science, Gale OneFile Environmental Science and Policy and Gale Opposing Viewpoints.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a good source to find abstracts for academic journal articles, some of which include links to full text of articles. You find abstracts and often full text versions of dissertation and thesis papers and reports here as well.

Scholarly, multidisciplinary database for access to articles, papers, books, theses, etc. in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. In order to link to materials owned by the University at Albany Libraries, you must set preferences when off-campus.

📋 When you open up Google Scholar, select Settings. Then under Library Links check:
✅University at Albany, State University of New York - Full-Text @ My Library,
✅SUNY - Albany - ProQuest Fulltext,
✅University at Albany SUNY - Cengage Gale Full Text,
✅University at Albany, SUNY - Find It @ UAlbany Libs, and
✅Open Worldcat.

Keyword Suggestions

Recommended search terms for the topic of e-waste proliferation and e-waste recycling include :

electronic waste (or e-waste)
electronic waste (or e-waste) recycling
electronic waste (or e-waste) management
extended producer responsibility
e-stewardship
e-waste recycling laws